Full Text Resources
Primary and secondary source documents about the history of Lower Merion and Narberth.
Search Full Texts
Back from Battle: Lower Merion’s Civil War Camp Discharge
The final year of the Civil War, a special Union Army post was swiftly erected on a hilltop in Lower Merion to handle a jumble of returning citizen-soldiers. Back From Battle reclaims the history of Camp Discharge and follows the often tumultuous lives of the Pennsylvania volunteer soldiers who passed through its gates.
The First 300: The Amazing and Rich History of Lower Merion (2000)
Edited by Dick Jones. 284 pages of our fascinating history authored by more than 85 local experts and filled with over 800 vintage photographs and lithographs.
Lower Merion & Narberth Postcards (2010)
Edited by Jerry Francis and Sarah Francis, part of the Postcard History Series published by Arcadia Publishing Company. 128 pages with more than 200 historical images.
Joseph Price Diary (1788-1828)
The complete 1,211 pages of the 40-year diary of a prominent local Quaker. Transcribed by Mary Keim of the Lower Merion Historical Society; includes a topic finder.
History of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania (1884)
By William J. Buck. Chapter 1, Lower Merion Township.
Manufacturing Industries (1884)
By Theodore W. Bean. A description of manufacturing locations in Lower Merion, paper, powder and cotton mills as well as Pencoyd Iron Works.
A Brief History of Lower Merion Township (1888)
By Perry L. Anderson. This handwritten history of Lower Merion was transcribed by the Lower Merion Historical Society in 2001.
Lower Merion Academy (1888)
By Perry L. Anderson. This handwritten history of Lower Merion Academy, home of the Lower Merion Historical Society, was transcribed by the Historical Society in 2007.
Glimpses of Lower Merion (1958)
By Charles R. Barker. Planned as a series of newspaper articles, but never published.
Montgomery County: The Second Hundred Years (1983)
Edited by Mary Wood. Brief biographies of 350 notable residents of Lower Merion.
Lower Merion Academy: A Legend in Learning (1997)
By Jo Anne Debes and Gerald A. Francis.A history of the oldest schoolhouse in the county, in continuous use for educational purposes since 1812.
Public Schools in Lower Merion and Narberth (2004)
By Ted Goldsborough. A brief history of our public schools.
David J. Schmidt Collection (2000-03)
By David Schmidt. A collection of articles for Main Line Life; Schmidt received the 2001 Historical Architectural Review Board Journalism Award for Outstanding Service.
The Lower Merion Society for the Detection and Prosecution of Horse Thieves and the Recovery of Stolen Horses (2016)
By Jerry Francis. The 200-year history of this most ancient of Lower Merion community organizations, founded in 1818, and still in existence.