Edited by Mary Wood – 1988
Addis, Roland Taylor. 1899-1971. Architect. All Saints Episcopal Parish House; Churchof Good Shepherd’s education unit, Rosemont. Residence: Haverford.
Almy, Ann. Graduate Vassar, 1920s. Head of Lower School of Montgomery School, 1930s. With Louise Ratledge, faculty member, leased Montgomery School, 1938 after it closed for financial reasons. Reopened as Montgomery Country Day School, K-8th grades. Old Gulph Road, Penn Valley
Althouse, Warren B. 1898-1988. Founding member of Gladwyne Presbyterian Church. Life member of Gladwyne Fire Co. and member of the Lower Merion Society for Detection and Prosecution of Horse Thieves
Amado, Ralph David. 1932-. Physicist. Ph.D. (Rhodes scholar) Oxford U., 1957. Faculty, U of Pennsylvania, 1957-; chairman physics department, 1982-87; associate dean for natural sciences, 1987-. Consultant, Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, 1962-65. Los Alamos Science Laboratory, 1965-.
Amado, Carol Stein. (Mrs. Ralph David) 1935-. Violinist. Juilliard School and Yale U.; Fulbright scholar, Paris. Founder (1963) and first violin Amado Quartet. Soloist with Concerto Soloists, Swarthmore College Chamber Orchestra, North Penn Symphony, Main Line Symphony, others. Director, Sundays At Three concerts, Bala Cynwyd Library. Residence: Merion.
Anders, Monroe H. 1884-1971. Graduate Perkiomen Seminary, Princeton U., U. of Pennsylvania Law School, 1910. Practiced law in Norristown and Ardmore, 1910-1966. Married Gertrude E. Scheetz, Norristown, 1914. Instrumental in organizing pension funds of Lower Merion Police and Lower Merion Volunteer Firemen. Solicitor for Volunteer Firemen’s Pension Fund. Administrator, U.S. Census for Bucks and Montgomery Counties, 1930. During Depression worked in administration of dissolution assets of failed Merion Title & Trust Co., obtaining refunds of 80% of deposits of children of Lower Merion schools. Appointed in 1940 Government Appeals Officer, Selective Service Board, Bryn Mawr; served 30 years. Residence: Ardmore.
Anderson, Dr. Joseph W. 1877-1957. Descendant of Dr. James Anderson who purchased “St. Georges” house and 104 acres in Ardmore in 1811, once the country place of Philip Syng, colonial silversmith. For 146 years a Dr. Anderson lived at “St. Georges,” the garden of which is now the site of the Ardmore YMCA. Dr. Joseph W. Anderson served on Lower Merion School Board 1932-1957.
Anderson, William. 1896-1962. Lower Merion High School basketball coach. Won four state championships, seven Eastern Pennsylvania championships, twelve Pennsylvania District #1 titles, 1927-1945.
Annenberg, Walter H. 1908-. Publisher and owner, Philadelphia Inquirer, Philadelphia Daily News; president, Triangle Publications, TV Guide, etc. United States ambassador to Great Britain. Established the Annenberg Foundation; founder of the Annenberg School of Communications, U. of Pennsylvania; Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Art collector; philanthropist. Residences: Wynnewood; Palm Springs, CA.
Anspach, Brooke, M.D. 1876-1951. Gynecologist. Graduate, U of Pennsylvania Medical School, 1897. On staff Bryn Mawr Hospital, others. Professor, Thomas Jefferson U., 1921-40. Author: Gynecology (1921). Residence: Ardmore.
Appel, Kenneth Ellmaker, M.D. 1896-1979. Psychiatrist. Harvard U. Ph.D.,1918, M.D., 1924. Faculty U. of Pennsylvania Medical School, 1931-64. Author: Psychiatry & Modern Warfare (with Dr. E.A. Strecker, 1946); Living Wisely and Well (1949). Residence: Ardmore.
Applebee, Constance Mary K. 1873 1981. (England). Introduced field hockey to United States, c.1900. Bryn Mawr College director physical education, 1906-; founder of Health Department, 1908. A founder of United States Field Hockey Association, 1912. Operated camp in Mt. Pocono, Pa.
Arnold, Henry Harley (“Hap”). 1886-1950. “Father of the United States Air Force.” Born in Gladwyne; graduate Lower Merion High School, 1903; West Point. Made General of the Army, 1944, and General of the Air Force, 1949; only man to hold both five-star ranks. Commanding General Army Air Forces, an original member of Joint and Combined Chiefs of Staff, WW II. As pilot, took part in experimental flights after WW I. His home, now rectory of St. John Vianney Catholic Church, Gladwyne. Marker dedicated 5/28/50, sponsored by Lower Merion Historical Society. Author: Winged Warfare (1941); Army Flyer (1942); Global Mission (autobiography, 1949)
Asam, Henry, Jr. 1910-1991. Former president and chairman of Asam Brothers, Inc., Philadelphia wallpaper and paint company founded in 1896 by his father and uncle. Navy veteran, WW II. Active member of the Lower Merion Historical Society.Residence: Bala-Cynwyd
Ashmead, John. 1917-.Professor of English, Haverford College. Author: The Mountain and the Feather (1961); The Songs of Robert Burns (1988) with John Davison, combining music and poetry of Burns.
Austin, William Liseter. 1852-1932. Inventor, manufacturer. Baldwin Locomotive Works, 1870-1912 (vice-president, president & chairman of board in later years). President, Lower Merion School Board. His estate in Bryn Mawr now site of Beaumont Retirement Village (1988). Park between Rosemont train station & Lancaster Ave., Rosemont, given by daughter Rebecca in memory of her father.
Baily, William Lloyd. 1861-1947. Architect. Designed (with George Bassett) houses, schools, churches, 1880-1930: Church of the Good Shepherd, several Shipley School buildings, St. Mary’s parish house. Residence later in life: Ardmore.
Baird, Matthew. 1817-1877 (Ireland). Manufacturer & inventor. From Superintendent of Shops in 1837 to sole proprietor of Baldwin Locomotive Works, 1866. Philanthropist. Residence: “Bardwold,” 30 acres between Merion railroad station and Bowman Ave.
Baker, George (Father Divine). C. 1885-1965. Founder. Peace Mission Movement. Palace Mission, Inc., one of the churches of the Movement, purchased Woodmont (built 1892 for Alan Wood, Jr. on 73 acres in Gladwyne) from estate of Mrs. J. Hector McNeal, 1952. Shrine commemorating work of Father Divine marks his burial near the French Gothic manor house.
Baldwin, Florence. 1857-1926. Founded Baldwin School, 1888, college preparatory school for girls. The second proprietary school in the United States to change to a non-profit organization, 1919. School moved permanently to former Bryn Mawr Hotel, 1922. Outstanding graduates: Gertrude Ely, 1895; Helen Taft Manning, 1908; Emily Hartshorne Mudd, 1917; Cornelia Otis Skinner, 1918; Ada Mutch, 1922.
Baltzell, Edward Digby. 1915-. Professor, sociology, U. of Pennsylvania, 1947-. Danforth Fellow Society for Religion in Higher Education, Princeton Theological Seminary, 1967-68; Guggenheim Fellow, 1978-79; others. Author: Philadelphia Gentlemen (1958); The Protestant Establishment (1964); Puritan Boston and Quaker Philadelphia (1979). Former residence: Bryn Mawr.
Barker, Frank P. K. 1884-1956. Dentist. Lower Merion Township Commissioner 20 years (president 1942-46). Followed brother W.A.L. Barker as commissioner who had served the previous 22 yrs. Both, descendants of owners of rug yarn mill on Mill Creek, now a business building. Named Man of Year, 1947 by First Class Township Commissioners organization. Residence: Gladwyne.
Barnes, Laura Leggett. (Mrs. Albert C. Barnes). 1875-1966. Married Dr. Barnes, 1901. Lived at three acre “Lauraston” on Latch’s Lane, Merion, back of Gilmore’s “Yorklynne,” now Episcopal Academy. In the 1920s Dr. Barnes purchased J. Lapsley Wilson’s fifteen acre “Redslates,” four doors away. Mrs. Barnes expanded a collection of rare trees and shrubs on property. Established school of botany, horticulture and landscape architecture, 1940. By 1982 more than 1000 persons had completed the three- year college-level, tuition-free curriculum. Bequeathed her collection of thirty-five paintings, miniature carved and cast animals, lithographs to the Brooklyn Museum in her home town.
Barone, Joseph. 1911-1988. Founder, Bryn Mawr Conservatory of Music, 1934. Director, L’Ecole Monteux in Hancock, Maine (summers). Founder and director of Philadelphia and New York Little Symphonies with which artists Robert Merrill, Lukas Foss, Natalie Hinderas, Fred Fennell, Anshel Brusilow, others, made debuts.
Bartle, Paul B. 1944-. Lawyer. Lower Merion Township commissioner, 1975-79; Montgomery County commissioner, 1979-; chairman. 1983-. Republican.Residence: Wynnewood.
Beck, Aaron, M.D. 1921-. Psychiatrist. M.D. Yale U., 1946; U of Pennsylvania Medical School faculty, 1954-. Professor, psychiatry, 1971-. Director, Center of Cognitive Therapy, 1965-. Member review board of National Institute Mental Health, 1965-. Author: Depression: Causes and Treatment (1972); Diagnosis and Management of Depression (1973); Cognitive Therapy and the Emotional Disorders (1976); Cognitive Therapy of Depression (1979). Residence: Wynnewood.
Beck, Phyllis. 1927-. First woman judge Superior Court of Pennsylvania, 1981-. Graduate Brown U., Temple Law School, 1967. Private practice, 1967-74. Faculty, Temple Law School, 1972-76. Vice-dean, U. of Pennsylvania Law School, 1976-81. Committees of Superior Court of Philadelphia, Philadelphia Bar Association, American Law Institute, American Bar Association, Pennsylvania Bar Association. Author: articles for professional journals. Residence: Wynnewood.
Becton, Julius Wesley, Jr. 1926-. Born in Bryn Mawr. Star football center, Lower Merion High School. Enlisted United States Army, 1943; advanced to Brig. General, 1972, one of first black generals. Lt. General, 1978. Served in Pacific Theater, Korea and Vietnam; former Commander 1st Cavalry Division; Commander VII Army Corps, Stuttgart, Germany, 1978-81. Decorations: Legion of Merit, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, others.
Bell, Gibson. 1879-1979. Harvard U., 1901; Seminary, 1908. Founded Montgomery School, preparatory school for boys, Wynnewood, 1915. Supplied pulpit, All Saints Episcopal Church; made rector of the parish 1920. Also held services at St. Joseph Mission on Mill Creek. In 1922 bought the Hopper property on Old Gulph Rd., moved the Montgomery School there. Atwater Kent gave the gymnasium. Ann Almy and Louise Ratledge managed the school after 1938. Dr. Bell died on his 100th birthday.
Bicking (Boeking), Frederick. 1730-1809. Born Winterburg, Germany. Operated various mills on Mill Creek and fishery on island in the Schuylkill River. His son, Frederick Bicking, Jr., operated “Dove Mill” in what is now Gladwyne, making paper supplied to the early United States government.
Billington, James Hadley. 1929-. Librarian of Congress, 1987-. Educated Lower Merion schools, Princeton U., Rhodes scholar, Oxford. Faculty, Harvard U., 1957-61. Associate professor of history, Princeton U., 1964-73; Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, 1973-87. Visiting professor/lecturer, USA, Europe, Asia. Academy of Arts & Sciences; Council on Foreign Relations, numerous honorary degrees. Publications: The Icon & the Axe; Fire in the Minds of Men; The Arts of Russia.
Bland, James A. 1854-1911. Attended Howard U. Father was president of Wilberforce U. Composer of more than 700 songs including “Carry Me Back to Old Virginny.” Performed in England many years. Buried, Merion Memorial Park Cemetery, Bala Cynwyd. His unmarked grave created controversy in 1940 when Dr. Albert C. Barnes unsuccessfully proposed moving the burial and erecting a monument elsewhere in the township. Lions Club of Virginia placed headstone on grave in1946.
Bok, Cary W. 1905-1970. Publisher. Born Merion, son of Edward and M. L. Curtis Bok. Vice president and chairman Finance Committee, Curtis Publishing Co., secretary Curtis,Institute of Music.
Bok, Curtis. 1897-1962. Judge of Superior Court of Pennsylvania, 1958-. Son of Edward Bok; father of Derek C. Bok. Author: Star Wormwood; The Backbone of the Herring; I, Too, Nicodemus. Residence: Ardmore
Bok, Derek Curtis. 1930- (Ardmore). Lawyer. Professor, dean, Harvard Law School, 1968-71; president, Harvard U., 1971-. Fellow American Academy Arts and Sciences. Author: (with Archibald Cox) Cases and Materials on Labor Law, 1962; others.
Bok, Edward William. 1863-1930 (Netherlands). Largely self-educated. Early association with Henry Ward Beecher; friend of presidents. Age 21 was editor of The Brooklyn Magazine. Married Mary Louise Curtis, daughter of founder, Curtis Publishing Co. As editor, made Ladies Home Journal the most influential magazine in the United States. Established the Philadelphia Award, 1921. Founded the Merion Civic Association. Built the Singing (Bok) Tower, Lake Wales, Fla. near winter home. Author: The Americanization of Edward Bok (Pulitzer Prize 1921); Twice Thirty; Why I Believe inPoverty; A Man from Maine; others. Wife M. L. Curtis Bok founded and endowed the Curtis Institute of Music, 1924. Residence: Merion.
Bolles, Albert Sidney. 1846-1939. Lawyer. Professor, U of Pennsylvania; lecturer, Haverford College. Editor: Banker’s Magazine. Author: Financial History of the US;Money Banking and Finance. Residence: Haverford.
Bond, Richard. 1909-1989. Chief executive, John Wanamaker Stores. Graduate Swarthmore College. Early leader of the Greater Philadelphia Movement. Co-chairman, Mayor’s Non-Partisan Register and Vote Committee. Headed 1976 Bicentennial celebration. President and campaign manager, Philadelphia United Fund. Chairman, the Lower Merion Township Zoning Board.
Booth, James Curtis. 1810-1888. Founder, American Chemical Society, 1876. Educated U. of Pennsylvania, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Studied with Faragut in England and Wohler in Germany. Established the first chemical laboratory in the United States to analyze ores. State geologist of Delaware. “Melter and refiner” of the United States Mint, 1849-1888, introduced the nickel in 1856. Residence: “Midhope,” in Haverford.
Borton, Hugh. 1903-. Educator. Graduate Haverford College, advanced degrees from Columbia U., Tokyo, Leyden. Expert on Far East and post-war Japan. Faculty, Columbia U., 1937-1957. President, Haverford College, 1957-67.
Bortz, Edward LeRoy, M.D. 1896-1970. Associate professor, medicine, U.of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Medicine. Chief of medical service, Lankenau Hospital Author: Diabetes Control (1951); Creative Aging (1963). Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Bowen, Catherine Drinker. 1897-1973. Author. Born and died in Haverford. Daughter of Henry Sturgis Drinker, president of Lehigh U. Books: Miracle at Philadelphia; Beloved Friend; Yankee from Olympus; John Adams and the American Revolution; Family Portrait; Lion and the Throne; others.
Bowman, Claude C. 1908-1988. Educator. Sociologist, Temple U., 1930-1976. Dean of students, 1944-45. President, chapter of American Association of University Professors, 1953-54. Author: The College Professor in America (1938); Humanistic Sociology (1973); articles on sociology and mental health. Residence: Merion.
Brennan, John “Fritz”. 1913-1988. Coached at Lower Merion High School for 32 years. His teams had the longest winning streak in Lower Merion history. Served as athletic director and assistant principal. A statue by Zenos Frudakis was dedicated to his memory in 1990 at Arnold Field, Ardmore.
Briggs, John Gurney, Jr. 1916-. Music critic, editor. Author: The Collector’s Tchaikovsky (1959); Leonard Bernstein: The Man, His Work and the World (1961);The Collector’s Beethoven (1962); others. Music critic: New York Post 1940-49. New York Times 1952-60; editor: Etude magazine. Program annotator, Philadelphia Orchestra, 1963-. Residence: Merion.
Brinton, Mary Merrick Williams. 1891-1992. Nurse. Graduate Agnes Irwin School, Presbyterian Hospital School of Nursing in 1920. Served missions in Labrador, Alaska. Nurse and anesthetist at Philadelphia General Hospital and U. of Pennsylvania Medical School. Awarded Margaretta Ansbach Award by Agnes Irwin School for contributions to her community. Author: My Cap and My Cape (1950) and other books. Early residence: Bala-Cynwyd
Brody, Anita B. 1936-. Lawyer and judge. Educated Wellesley College, Columbia U. Law School. Nominated Montgomery County judge of Court of Common Pleas, Confirmed by Pennsylvania Senate. Elected in 1981 for ten-year term; retained in 1991. Residence: Bala-Cynwyd
Bronner, Edwin Blaine. 1920-. Educator. Professor, history Temple U., 1947-62; professor, history and curator Quaker Collection, Haverford College, 1962-. Librarian, 1969-1986. Chairman, Friends World Committee for Consultation, London, 1974-80. Author: Thomas Earle as a Reformer (1948); William Penn’s Holy Experiment (1962); others. Residence: Haverford.
Brookshier, Thomas J. 1931-. Television sportscaster. Defensive back Philadelphia Eagles, 1953-61; named All-Pro, 1959-60, -61. Sportscaster: WCAU-TV, 1958-77.Analyst NFL broadcasts, CBS-TV, 1977-. Sports columnist: Denver Post and Rocky Mountain News, 1957-61. Main Line Junior Chamber of Commerce Award, 1965. Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame, 1974. Many others. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Brown, Dorothy McKenna. 1938-. M.S. Villanova U., 1962. Ph.D. education, U. of Pennsylvania, 1973. Helen C. Bailey Alumna Award, U. of Pennsylvania, 1984; Distinguished Graduate in Biology, Villanova U., 1982. First lay president, Rosemont College 1979-.
Buerkle, Jack Vincent. 1923-. Sociologist. Ph.D. U. of Iowa, 1954. Assistant professor, Yale U., 1955-60; faculty, Temple U., 1960-, professor sociology, 1963-; chairman department, 1963-71; visiting professor West Germany, 1966-67. Writes, performs short commentaries on history of jazz for National Public Radio. Author: Bourbon Street Black, (1973); Jazz Encounters (1988). Residence: Merion.
Burr, Anna Robeson. 1873-1941. Author: The Autobiography: A Study (1909); The House on Charles Street (1923); Weir Mitchell (1929); others. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Burstein, Elias. 1917-. Physicist. Professor, U. of Pennsylvania, 1958-88. Recipient John Price Wetherill Medal, Franklin Institute, 1979. Member, National Academy Sciences. Editor: Solid State Communications, 1969-. Residence: Penn Valley.
Cadbury, Henry Joel. 1883-1974. Educator. Ph.D. Harvard U., 1914, D.D. U. Glasgow, 1937; many honorary degrees. Haverford College faculty, 1910-19; Harvard U., 1919-26; Bryn Mawr College, 1926-34; Hollis professor divinity, Harvard U., 1934-54. Emeritus Lecturer, Pendle Hill, Wallingford, Pa., 1954-72, Haverford College, 1954-63; adjunct professor Temple U., 1962-66. Chairman Board of Directors, Bryn Mawr College, 1956-68; Chairman American Friends Service Committee, 1928-34, 1944-60. Author: The Making of Luke-Acts (1927); George Fox’s Book of Miracles (1948); Letters to William Dewsbury (1948); The Book of Acts in History (1955); John Woolman in England (1971); others.
Callen, Herbert Bernard. 1919-. Physicist. B.S and M.A., Temple U.; Ph.D. from M.I.T. With Manhattan Project, 1944-45, Guided Missile Project, Princeton U., 1945. Faculty, U. of Pennsylvania, 1948-85. Advisor, committee on Physics, NSF, 1966-69, chairman, 1969. Advisory Committee National Magnet Laboratory, 1965-68. Guggenheim fellow, 1972-73. Fellow American Physics Society. Vice chairman, American Professors for Peace in the Middle East. Author: Thermodynamics (1960) and articles.
Carol, Norman. Concertmaster. Studied with Efrem Zimbalist, Curtis Institute. At age 17 invited by Serge Koussevitzky to join First Violin section, Boston Symphony. Concertmaster, Minneapolis Symphony, 1960-66. Concertmaster, Philadelphia Orchestra, 1966-. Plays a Guarnerius violin (1743). Introduced works by Nielsen, Bernstein, Hindemith, Conus, Skrowaczewski, etc. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Carroll, Reverend Mother Mary Ignatius. 1882-1939. Appointed Superior of Society of the Holy Child Jesus and first president, Rosemont College, after temporary presidency of Reverend Mother Mary Dolores Brady.
Cassatt, Alexander J. 1839-1906. Graduate Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1859. First vice president Pennsylvania Railroad, 1880-82; president, Lancaster Ave. Improvement Co. (Pennsylvania Railroad subsidiary) to collect tolls, prevent trolley competition. Supervisor roads for Lower Merion Township, promoting macadamized roads, granite curb stones, etc. Built 66-room mansion, “Cheswold,” designed by Furness and Evans, c. 1878, Haverford (house razed 1936). Other railroad executives followed his lead in building homes along the “main line.” President, Pennsylvania Railroad, 1899-1906. Instrumental in enacting state law for classifying townships. The only monument to a Lower Merion resident in township is bas-relief, corner Grays Lane and Montgomery Ave., Haverford, showing Cassatt on horseback. Mary Cassatt, 1845-1926, Impressionistpainter, was his sister.
Catherwood, Cummins. 1910-. Financier, philanthropist. Formerly co-owner, Evening Public Ledger; director, Bryn Mawr Trust Co. President, Mineral Production Corp. President, Catherwood Foundation. Trustee, Academy of Music; Board of Governors, Philadelphia Museum of Art; Board of Directors, Philadelphia Orchestra Association. Residence: Gladwyne.
Cederstrom, John Andrew. 1929-. Artist. Philadelphia College of Art, 1948-50, Pennsylvania Academy Fine Arts, 1950-51, Bryn Mawr Art Center, 1951-62; art director St. Peters School, Episcopal Academy, Main Line Adult Education, 1953-64; Friends Central School, 1963-81. Art therapist, Inglis House, 1955-63; chief conservator, Hahn Gallery; partner, Concepts Unlimited, 1981-. Residence: Merion.
Chew, Samuel Clagett. 1888-1960. Bryn Mawr College professor. Author: Byron in England: His Fame and After-Fame (1924); Thomas Hardy (1921); Swinburne (1929); The Crescent and the Rose (1937).
Cirillo, Vincent A. 1927-. President Judge, Superior Court of Pennsylvania, 1986-. Graduate Lower Merion High School, Villanova U., Temple U. Law School. Founder and first director, Legal Research Institute. Assistant District Attorney, Montgomery County, 1958-62; Lower Merion Township commissioner; Assistant solicitor, Montgomery County. Appointed, then elected, to Court of Common Pleas, 1971. Elected to Superior Court, 1981. Member, many professional organizations. Residence: Penn Valley
Clark, Percy Hamilton. 1873-1965. Lawyer. Member, Committee of Seventy (Philadelphia). Married Elizabeth Roberts, daughter of George Roberts, president of Pennsylvania Railroad. Their daughter Mary Todhunter Clark married Nelson A. Rockefeller, 1930, at St. Asaph’s Church with reception at bride’s home on Belmont Ave. Home now the Mary J. Drexel Home, Bala-Cynwyd.
Clarke, Louis S. 1866-1957. Founded, with brother John S., Autocar Co., Ardmore, 1900. Inventor of first American spark plug. Commercial vehicle production began in 1908; no passenger cars produced after 1911. Clarkes sold business to group of Trenton bankers, 1927. Stockholders sold business to Robert F. Black, president of White Motor Co., 1953; plant moved to Exton, 1954. Vacant Ardmore Autocar Company building burned, 1956. Residence: Ardmore.
Clothier, Isaac Hallowell. 1837-1921. Attended Friends’ Central School in Philadelphia. Active in pre-Civil War abolitionist movement. Member firm Morris, Clothier & Lewis,Philadelphia, 1861-68. Joined fellow Quaker, Justus Strawbridge, 1868, to develop Strawbridge & Clothier. Retired January 1, 1895. Endowed a chair of Latin, Swarthmore College. Largest individual stockholder of Girard Trust Co.; Trustee, Williamson Free School of Mechanical Trades; Merchant’s Fund; Free Library of Philadelphia. Built “Ballytore,” 1881, Wynnewood. House sold to Agnes Irwin School for Girls in1933; house later became the Church of St. Sahag & St. Mesrob (Armenian).
Clothier, Isaac Hallowell, Jr. 1876-1961. Son of founder of Strawbridge & Clothier, and progenitor of three additional generations of Isaac H. Clothiers. Joined Strawbridge & Clothier as stock boy, 1896. Was 65 years with the firm. Encouraged the store to support American Red Cross, United War Chest, Salvation Army, American Friends Service Committee. Active in WW II war loan rallies,. Built “Sunnybrook” in Lower Merion which extended into Upper Merion, between Montgomery Ave. and County Line Rd. Sportsman, horseman, community leader; often headed Devon Horse Show.
Clothier, Morris Lewis. 1865-1947. Son of Isaac H. B.S. Swarthmore College, 1890. Entered employ of Strawbridge & Clothier in 1890; became partner in 1895. Senior andManaging Partner, 1903-1947. Owned “Clairemont” in Villanova, 1919-47, now Northeastern Christian Junior College. Received 10 honorary degrees; was 33rd° Mason; Phi Beta Kappa. Liberal donor to Swarthmore College, endowed a chair in physics. Trustee, U. of Pennsylvania Board of Managers, Girard Trust; director, Philadelphia National Bank; president, Philadelphia Retail Merchants Association. Hobby: farming.
Coffin, Tristram Potter. 1922-. Professor, English and folklore, U. of Pennsylvania, 1964-. Author: Our Living Traditions (1968); The Old Ball Game (1971); Folklore from the Working Folk (1973); The Female Hero (1975); The Proper Book of Sexual Folklore (1978); others. Residence: Haverford.
Cohn, Mildred. (Mrs. Henry Primakoff). 1913-. Professor, biological chemistry, 1960-78 U. of Pennsylvania Medical School; Benjamin Rush Professor Physiological Chemistry, 1978-82. Consultant, Fox Chase Institute for Cancer Research. Received Garvan Medal, Cresson Medal. Member National Academy of Sciences, American Philosophical Society, American Chemical Society; president, American Society of Biological Chemists. Residence: Penn Valley.
Coleman, John Royston. 1921-(Ontario). Faculty, economics, MIT, 1949-55; Carnegie Institute of Technology, 1955-65; Ford Foundation, 1965-66. President, Haverford College, 1967-77. Chairman Board of Directors, Federal Reserve Bank, Philadelphia, 1973-76. President, Edna McConnell Clark Foundation, NYC, 1977-. Author: The Changing American Economy (1967); Blue Collar Journal (1974); others.
Comfort, William Wistar. 1874-1955. Ph.D. Harvard U., 1902. Faculty, romance languages, Haverford College, 1897-1909. President, Haverford College, 1917-1940. First alumnus to hold that position. Author: French Prose Composition (1908); Just Among Friends (1941); A Quaker in the Modern World (1949); many others.
Cooke, James Francis. 1875-1960. Teacher of piano and voice, organist, song writer. Editor of Etude magazine 1907-1949. Author: Standard History of Music (1909);Music Masters Old and New (1921); others. Residence: Bala.
Connelly, John F. 1905-1990. Chief executive, Crown Cork & Seal Co. Benefactor through Connelly Foundation to area churches and schools of more than $74 million. Founded Catholic Charities Appeal in Philadelphia. Member of two Papal orders. Residence: Bryn Mawr
Coughlin, Lawrence. 1929-. Former state representative, 149th district, state senator, 17th district. Elected to United States House of Representatives, November 1968, representing the 13th Congressional District; serving ninth consecutive term (1988). Former residence: Villanova.
Currie, Barton Wood. 1878-1962. Associate editor: Country Gentleman, 1912-17, editor, 1917-20. Editor: Ladies Home Journal, 1910-18. Sent by New York World to Labrador to meet Peary on his return from last polar expedition, 1908-9; wrote of Cook-Peary controversy, presented Peary’s view. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Dagit Family. Architects. Henry Dandurand Dagit. 1865-1929, founded firm, 1888 with three sons: Henry D. Dagit, Jr., c. 1893-1981, Albert Fisler Dagit, Sr., 1900-1987, and Charles Edward Dagit, 1902-1987. St. Francis de Sales Church in southwest Philadelphia is outstanding example of their work. In 1960 Albert F. Dagit and sons, Albert F., Jr.,1925-1988, and Daniel C., 1928-, formed Dagit Associates, King of Prussia. Charles E. Dagit, Sr. and Jr., 1943-, formed Dagit-Saylor Architects, Philadelphia noteworthy work: Chapel at Rosemont College, two homes in Gladwyne (A.I.A. awards); Merion Mercy Academy classrooms; major renovations Bryn Mawr College. Dagit family residences: Haverford, Merion, Bryn Mawr.
Davison, John Herbert. 1930- (Istanbul). Faculty, Haverford College, 1959-. Chairman, music department, 1969-78. Composer: Symphonies 1 through 5; “Te Deum for Chorus and Orchestra” (1960); “Sextet for English Horn, Piano and Strings” (1968); “Cycle of Piano Music” (1972); “Mass for Chorus and Orchestra” (1972). Author (with JohnAshmead): The Songs of Robert Burns. Residence: Haverford.
de MazIa, Violette. 1899-1988 (Paris). Studied painting with Christie, England. Came to United States in 1929. Lecturer, Barnes Foundation on philosophy and appreciation of art Executor of Foundation, 1935-. Vice president Board of Trustees, director of education, art department Barnes Foundation, 1966-. Editor: Barnes Foundation Journal of the Art Department and Vistas. Author: with Dr. Albert C. Barnes, John Dewey and others, Art and Education (1929, rev. 1947, 1954); with Dr. Barnes, The French Primitives and Their Forms (1931); The Art of Henri Matisse (1933); The Art of Renoir (1935); others. Many honorary awards. Residence: Merion.
de Pasquale, Joseph. 1919-. Violist. Curtis Institute of Music, 1942. ABC Symphony, 1945-47; first violist, Boston Symphony, 1947-64; first violist, Philadelphia Orchestra, 1964-. With brothers formed de Pasquale String Quartet in residence Haverford College 1977-. Recording for RCA, Columbia, Boston. Man of Year, Sons of Italy, 1987.
Derham, Joseph J. 1863-? (Ireland). Founded Derham Body Co., carriage works, 1887, Rosemont. Experimented with body on auto chassis, 1907; by 1920, building only auto bodies for customers like Stalin, Pope Pius XII, King Farouk, President Eisenhower. Made pontoons for navy craft and special ambulances during WW II.
Divine, Father. See Baker, George.
Dorrance, John Thompson, Jr. 1919-. Campbell Soup Co. executive, 1946-. Chairman of Board, 1962-. Director, Carter Hawley Hale Stores, Morgan Guaranty Trust Co., others. Trustee, Princeton U., Donor, Philadelphia Museum of Art. Collector of antique soup tureens. Residence: Gladwyne.
Dreher, Fred. W., Sr. 1888-1959. Architect. Graduate Columbia U. Designed Suburban Square, Ardmore. Construction began before Depression, completed in 1930s. First manager Suburban Corp. Residence: Ardmore.
Drinker, Henry Sandwith. 1880-1965. Son of Henry Sturgis Drinker. Lawyer. Graduate Haverford School, Haverford College, Harvard Law. With Drinker, Biddle & Reath. Trustee, Settlement Music School. Director, Westminster Choir School, Academy of Natural Sciences; Vice president of Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts; many boards. He and his wife Sophie held Sunday night musicals, 1930-60. Helped Austrian refugee Trapp family to live in Merion during WW II. Author: vocal texts in English translation of Bach, Bahms, Schumann, Moussorgsky, Schubert, Beethoven, others. Residence: Merion.
Drinker, Henry Sturgis. 1850-1937 (Hong Kong). Graduate Lehigh U., 1871, LL.D. Lafayette, 1905. Married Aimee Ernesta Beaux, sister of artist Cecilia Beaux. In charge of building Musconetcong Tunnel for Lehigh Valley Railroad, 1872-75. Admitted to bar 1878. General Solicitor for Lehigh Valley Railroad, 1885-1905. President of Lehigh U., 1905-20., American Forestry Association, 1912-16. National Reserve Corps, 1913-16. Chairman of Board, Mill Training Camps Association, 1916-19. Author: Tunneling, Explosive Compounds & Rock Drills (1878). Residence: Haverford, Merion.
Drinker, Sophie Hutchinson. (Mrs. Henry Sandwith D.) 1888-1967. Born Haverford. Honorary Doctor of Music, Smith College, 1949. Founded the ”Montgomery Singers,” a women’s chorus. Author: Music and Women (1948); Brahms and His Women’s Choruses (1952); articles on women and music for Music Clubs, and Encyclopedia Britannica. Residence: Merion.
Dudden, Arthur Power. 1921-. Faculty, Bryn Mawr College, 1950-. Prof. history,1965; American studies expert. Fulbright scholar, Denmark, 1959-60. Consultant, Peace Corps1962-66. Author: The Assault of Laughter (1962); Joseph Fels and the Single Tax Movement (1971); Pardon Us, Mr. President! (1975); others. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Duncombe, The Reverend Franklin. 1898-1963. Pennington School, Temple U., Drew Theological Seminary. Pastor, Bala Cynwyd Methodist Church, 1930-61 (period of exceptional growth). Twice president, Main Line Ministerial Association, director, Methodist Board of Publications for 12 yrs.
Durang, Edwin Forrest. 1825-1911. Architect. Designed Our Mother of Good Counsel Roman Catholic Church, Bryn Mawr, 1896; also rectory, school and convent; Sisters ofMercy Convent in Merion; others, 1893-1905.
Durham, Walter K. 1896-1978. Builder and architect. Graduate Girard College. United States Navy, WW I. Partner with Durham & Irvine, Architects, then head of own firm. Designed and built homes on Main Line, elsewhere. Member Urban Lands Institute; received Alumni Award of Merit, Girard College, 1969. Residence: Gladwyne.
Eakins, Thomas. 1844-1916. Frequent visitor to St. Charles Seminary, Merion; painted portraits of bishops, monsignors, faculty members, often gave the portraits to their subjects. Residence: Philadelphia.
Earle, Gov. George H., III. 1890-1974. Sugar industry executive. Post WW I founded Flamingo Sugar Mills, Philadelphia. Appointed ambassador to Austria, 1933. FirstDemocratic Governor of Pennsylvania in 44 years, 1935-39. Minister to Bulgaria, 1940-41. Assistant naval attaché, Istanbul, 1943. Assistant governor, Samoa, 1945. Navy commander, WW II. Trustee, U. of Pennsylvania, U of Pittsburgh, State College ofPennsylvania. Many decorations. Residence: Haverford.
Einselen, Anne F. 1901-1988. Novelist. Former editor: Ladies Home Journal. Wrote as Anne Paterson (her grandmother’s name): Take These Hands (1939); Sleepless Candle; others. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Eiseley, Loren Corey. 1907-1977. Anthropologist, poet. Chairman, Department of Anthropology, U. of Pennsylvania, 1947-60. Provost, 1959-61. Curator, Early Man, University Museum 1948-. Author: The Immense Journey (1957); Darwin’s Century (1958); The Firmament of Time (1960); The Unexpected Universe (1969); many others. Residence: Wynnewood.
Elliott, James Francis (“Jumbo”). 1914-1981. Sportsman, businessman. Track star as student, Villanova U. Founded Elliott and Frantz, Inc.(contracting equipment). Coached at Villanova U. 46 years largely without salary. Trained 22 Olympic contestants (6 gold, 3 silver medals); his trainees set 18 world outdoor track records, 44 indoor records, won 39 championships in Intercollegiate Association of Amateur Athletes of America, 8 in National Collegiate Athletic Association; teams won 75 college championships at Penn Relays, more than any other school. Track and Field’s “Coach of the Century” (1976). Residence: Haverford.
Ellis, Rowland. 1650-1731. Purchased 800 acres in the “Welsh Tract” from Richard Davies, other lands in Pennsylvania for speculation. Sent his farmer, Thomas Owen, toAmerica in 1683, to build a house and clear fields. After his permanent move to America, 1697, built “Bryn Mawr,” now “Harrison House.” Represented Merion in the Assembly. Active in Merion Friends Meeting. Buried at Gwynedd Meeting.
Ely, Gertrude. 1876-1970. Received Croix de Guerre for work in France, WW I. State director women’s projects in Works Progress Administration, 1935-37. Helped establishUnited Service Organizations (USO) in South in WW II; worked in refugee camps. Active in National Association of American Indian Affairs, Executive Committee for U.N. International Children’s Emergency Fund. Organized Greater Philadelphia area UNICEF. Ran twice for Senate on Democratic ticket. Family owned Wyndham House (now part of Bryn Mawr College). Friend of Eleanor Roosevelt, Adlai Stevenson, etc. Gimbel Award, 1962; Distinguished Daughter of Pennsylvania, 1968; Baldwin School Award. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
English, O. Spurgeon, M.D. 1901-. Psychiatrist. Chairman, Department of Psychiatry, Temple U. Medical School, 1938-64. Past president, Philadelphia Psychiatry Society; Philadelphia Psychoanalytic Society. Author: Fathers Are Parents Too: A Guide to Successful Fatherhood (1954); others on psychiatry, psychosomatic medicine, emotionalproblems. Residence: Penn Valley.
Erving, Julius Winfield (“Dr. J”). 1950-. Attended U. Massachusetts. Basketball player with Virginia Squires, 1971-72; New York Nets, 1973-76; Philadelphia 76ers (National Basketball Association), 1976-1987. Rookie of Year, 1972. Active in civic organizations,charity events. Many honors. Residence: Villanova.
Evans, Allen. 1849-1925. Architect. Partner of Frank Furness, 1881-. Designed All Saints Episcopal Church, Wynnewood; St. Mary’s Episcopal Church, Ardmore;Haverford railroad station; Bryn Mawr Hotel (Baldwin School) after the original burned, 1887; Alex. Cassatt’s “Cheswold” in Haverford; others. Son of Dr. E.E.C. Evans.Residence: Haverford.
Evans, Edward Edmund Cadwallader, M.D. 1812-1881. Medical degree, U of Pennsylvania, 1835; thesis on “Digestion.” Edited The Rural Economist, 1861-62. C. 1872 built “Penrhyn” off Gray’s Lane in Haverford adjacent to A.J. Cassatt’s “Cheswold” and across land from Griscom’s “Dolobran.” Evans’ house destroyed by fire, 1897.
Evans, Helen Lowden. 1899-. Portrait artist. Studied at Philadelphia College of Art. Paid son’s tuition at Valley Forge Military Academy by portraying administrators, patriots. Her work also at U. of Pennsylvania, the Pentagon, capitol at Harrisburg. Residence: Bryn Mawr, Gladwyne
Ewing, Samuel E. 1907-1981. Lower Merion Township commissioner for more than 30 years. Graduate, Haverford School, Princeton U., U. of Pennsylvania Law School. Member, United States Olympic field hockey team, 1936 (Berlin). Served in United States Army under General Omar Bradley. Executive, RCA Co. Trustee, Temple U.
Fish, John. 1863-1936 (England). Arrived America 1888, established watch repair shop, Bryn Mawr. Built home & store (clocks & jewelry) at 1018 Lancaster Ave., 1891-92. Son Walter moved shop to 1022 Lancaster Ave.1966. Grandson David, proprietor in 1988.
Foerderer, Percival. 1885-1969. Leather manufacturer. Grandfather, Robert A. Foerderer, pioneered Vici Kid for shoes. Firm disbanded in 1937. In 1920s, he bought 250 acres in Gladwyne, built “La Ronda”, Spanish style mansion designed by Addison Mizner. Banking and philanthropy occupied his last years. The Foerderer Foundation grants aid to medical research, education and charitable needs. Foerderer Pavilion at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital honors him.
Fogg, John Milton. 1898-1982. Botanist. Faculty, U. of Pennsylvania, 1925-54; dean, 1941-44; director, Morris Arboretum, 1954-67; director, Barnes Foundation Arboretum in Merion, 1966-79.
Fuller, Walter Deane. 1882-1964. Publisher. Joined Curtis Publishing Co., 1908; president, 1934-50; board chairman, 1950-57. Served on numerous boards of directors. Residence: Penn Valley.
Gearhart, Major Samuel W. 1883-1953. Police officer. Served in United States Army in Philippines. Joined Pennsylvania State Police; called to restore order at Baldwin Locomotive Works strike in Philadelphia, 1910, and steel strike at Farrell. Troop captain by 1920. Superintendent, Lower Merion Police, 1938. Instituted new police code modeled after Scotland Yard, radio police car system, merit system, pistol range, other innovations. Retired 1949. Residence: Ardmore and Bryn Mawr.
Gerhard, George S. M.D. 1849-1920. Founder, Bryn Mawr Hospital; first president of medical staff. He convinced wives of influential men that a hospital was needed; several families contributed total of $37,000. Corner at Bryn Mawr Ave. and County Line Rd. purchased for $7,900. Hospital incorporated in 1892.
Gibson, Henry. 1830-1891. With father John and A.M. Moore in firm of John Gibson, Son & Co., distillers, formed in1856. By 1869 H. C. Gibson considered wealthiest citizen in Philadelphia. Member, 8 major boards (insurance, railroads, coal, etc.); art collector. Board, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Art. In 1881 built Maybrook; designed by G.W. & W.D. Hewitt, Wynnewood. Endowed wing at U. of Pennsylvania Hospital, made major contribution for Furness Library, U. of Pennsylvania. Retired; firm became Moore & Sinnott. With John Wanamaker, others, formed syndicate to build elevated railroad in Philadelphia. His collection of paintings (19th century, European), given to Pennsylvania Academy Fine Art, 1896. Collection largely intact in 1988.
Giersch, Herman, Sr. 1887-1974. Musician. Joined Bryn Mawr Band at age eight as clarinetist, 1895. Conductor, 1912-1974. Band played parades, all patriotic events, horse shows, polo matches (Haverford), Lower Merion High School football games, silent movies, and in the park opposite today’s Ludington Library (now a parking lot).
Gilbert, George H. 1892-. Dartmouth U.; Harvard U. School of Education, LL.D. Drexel Institute. Principal Lower Merion High School, 1932-1957. Enrollment increased from 700 to 1700 students, 3 new buildings, athletic field purchased. President of Suburban High School Principals Association.; officer Middle States Association of Secondary Schools & Colleges; National Honor Society Scholarship Committee; Examination Committee College Entrance Examination Board.
Glickman, Sylvia. (Mrs. Harvey G.). 1932-. Concert pianist. Juilliard School of Music, Loeb prize. Fulbright scholar (London), 1955; Hecht prize in composition, Royal Academy. United States Information Service concerts abroad. Compositions: “Prayer Service,” (1976); setting for Eliot’s “Hollow Men,” (1985); “Seven Deadly Sins” (1987). Author: Amy Beach: Virtuoso Piano Music (1982); Anthology of American Piano Music from 1865-1909 (1989). Residence: Wynnewood.
Goodman, John Stephens. (Guthman or Guttman, Jon Stephan). C. 1712-1779. Weaver. Owned farm that now forms business district of Ardmore. An organizer of Lutheran congregation of Lower Merion, 1765.
Griscom, Clement A. 1841-1912. Shipbuilder and shipping executive. President, International Navigation Co. that bought American Steamship Co. and Red Star Line,shipping principally to Liverpool and Antwerp. Owned 90-acre “Soapstone Farm” named for quarry on the property in Merion Square (now Gladwyne) between Halberstadt’s “Waverly Heights” and Mrs. Charlotte Monk’s “Cedar Crest.” Home at “Dolobran,” 62 acres across Gray’s Lane from Evans’ and Cassatt’s properties, Haverford. Furness and Evans designed the house built in 1891
Gummere, Amelia Mott. 1859-1937. Author: The Quaker: A Study in Costume (1902); Witchcraft and Quakerism (1908); The Quaker in the Forum (1909). Married to Francis Barton Gummere, professor of English, Haverford College. Residence: Haverford.
Gummere, John Flagg. 1902-1988. Headmaster, 27 years of William Penn Charter School. Latin scholar; considered one of nation’s leading educators. Residence: Haverford.
Hagarty, Lois Sherman. 1948-. Harriton High School, Temple U. Law School, 1976. First Assistant District Attorney, Montgomery County. Law practice, Norristown. Elected to State House of Representatives, 1980; reelected ’82, ’84, ’86. Author: several Acts in the legislature. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Hagy Family: Hans Jacob Hagy (Hage or Hagie). 1721-1792 (Switzerland). Arrived America, 1751. Established paper mill on Mill Creek, 1769, some 900 feet from mouth of Mill Creek, operated by son William Hagy, 1758-1834; it is said the Bill of Rights waswritten on the product of this mill. It is known that Hagy supplied paper to Benjamin Franklin. Jacob Hagy, 1780-1841 continued in paper-making. His son, William Robeson Hagy, 1806-1867, and grandson Jacob Robeson Hagy, 1833-1883 were farmers, lived in Libertyville, east of intersection of today’s Wynnewood Rd. and Montgomery Ave. Daughters Mary Price H. Davis, Sarah Lowry H. Hibberd, and Jane Lorimer H. Moore lived into their 80s and 90s.
Haig, Alexander Meigs, Jr. 1924-. Born in Overbrook, lived in Bala Cynwyd; attended Lower Merion High School, Notre Dame U., West Point (1947). On General MacArthur’s staff, Japan; served in Korean War. Graduate Army War College, 1966; commanded battalion, brigade of 1st Infantry Division, Vietnam. Wounded; Distinguished Service Cross. Military adviser to Henry Kissinger, 1969. President Nixon promoted him to full general, named Vice Chief of Staff of the Army. Retired in 1973 to become White House chief of staff, to 1974. Commander-in-Chief US European Command & Supreme Allied Commander Europe SHAPE, 1974-78. Secretary of State, 1981-82. Briefly, candidate forPresidency of the United States, 1988.
Hall, Clarence E. 1891-1972. Lawyer and amateur painter. Wharton School, U. of Pennsylvania Law School. Philadelphia Board of Law Examiners. Founding member and president of the Merion Botanical Society in 1946. Author: Flowers of the Islands in the Sun (with his own flower paintings.) Residence: Merion.
Hallowell, Henry Richardson. 1898-. Investment banker. Partner, Hallowell, Sulzberger, Jenks & Co., 1958-73; vice president, Hoppin Watson, Inc., 1973-75. Director, several companies; associate member, New York Stock Exchange; member, American Stock Exchange. President, Merion Civic Association, 1945-47. Director, Merion Botanical Society. Instrumental in promoting Schuylkill Expressway when Merion Road was threatened with expansion into major traffic route. Residence: Merion.
Harcum, Edith Hatcher. (Mrs. Octavius Marvin). C. 1888-1958. Studied piano in New York City, Paris, and with Leschetizky, Vienna. Member, piano department Shipley School, 1910. Married, 1913. Founder and president, Harcum Junior College, Bryn Mawr, 1915-1952. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Harding, George M. 1882-1959. Painter, illustrator. Appointed official artist of American Expeditionary Force WW I. Painted murals in U.S. Custom House and post office buildings in Philadelphia, and Washington, D.C. Residence: Wynnewood.
Harnwell, Gaylord P. 1903-1982. Physicist. Haverford College, Cambridge U. and Princeton U. Professor of physics, chairman, department and director Randal Morgan Laboratory, U of Pennsylvania, 1938-53. President, U. of Pennsylvania, 1953-1970. Author: Principles of Electricity and Electromagnetism (1929); Russian Diary (1960); Physics: Matter, Energy and the Universe (1967); others. Residence: Haverford.
Harrison, Richard, Jr. Died 1747. Came to Pennsylvania from Maryland, 1717. Owned “Harrison” from 1719 (formerly Rowland Ellis’s “Bryn Mawr”), grew tobacco, owned slaves. Served as Justice of Peace, 1726-7, 1733, 1738 and 1745. Married Hannah Norris, a Quaker minister and daughter of Judge Isaac Norris. Their daughter Hannah married Charles Thomson, 1775, and continued to live at Harriton.
Haslam, Greville. 1891-1966. Educator. Graduate M.I.T. Headmaster of Episcopal Academy, 1921-1957. President, Merion Civic Association, and Headmasters Association of the United States, 1949-51.
Haupt, Lewis Muhlenberg. 1844-1937. Marine engineer and inventor of method to channel through ocean bars. Author of books on engineering, topography, canals; served as Panama Canal Commissioner, 1899-1902. Residence: Cynwyd.
Heaps, Horace, Jr. 1888-1952. Founder and first fire chief, West Manayunk Fire Co. (Belmont Hills). Printer, compositor and editor: Bryn Mawr Home News. Contributed verses to Main Line Times. Known as the “Bard of the Main Line.” State Deputy Fire Marshal. Residence: Belmont Hills.
Henderson, Joseph Welles. 1920-. Lawyer. Partner, Rawle & Henderson. United States delegate, International Conference on Marine Pollution, 1973. Founder and president, Philadelphia Maritime Museum Association, 1960-. Co-editor: The Challenger Sketch Book (1972); associate editor: American Maritime Cases. Residence: Gladwyne.
Henry, Mary Klett Gibson. (Mrs. J. Norman H.) 1884-967. Botanist. Granddaughter, Henry Gibson, distiller, of “Maybrook” in Wynnewood. Married to the Director of Public Health of Philadelphia. Founder, 1950, Henry Foundation for Botanical Research, specializing in North American plants; the Foundation maintains a botanical garden and education program, sponsors annual events. Residence: Gladwyne.
Henry, Josephine deN. 1911-. Daughter of Dr. and Mrs. J. Norman Henry. Traveled with her mother by horseback on trips through Canada, 1930s, scouting route of future Alcan Highway and working with cartographers. Collector, developer of rare plants. Director, Henry Foundation (see above). Residence: Gladwyne.
Herndon, John Goodwin. 1888-1957. Economist. United States Bureau of Internal Revenue, 1917-18. Faculty, Haverford College, 1929-33; chairman department of government, 1933- 47; U. of Pennsylvania, 1931-33; Swarthmore College, 1937. Lecturer, American Institute of Banking. Avid genealogist. Author: Many books on taxation and genealogy.
Hess, Peter C. 1876-1952. Lower Merion Township Commissioner, 1923-26, Treasurer, 1926-46. Chairman Lower Merion Republican Committee for many years. Organizer of the Bala Cynwyd Neighborhood Club. Active in Union Fire Co., St. John’s Episcopal Church Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Hibbs, Ben. 1901-1975. Taught journalism, Kansas (native state). Associate editor: Country Gentleman, Philadelphia, 1919-40; editor, 1940-42. Editor: Saturday Evening Post, 1942-61. Senior editor: Reader’s Digest, 1963-72. U. of Pennsylvania JournalismAward, 1947; others. Residence: Penn Valley.
Hires, Charles E. 1851-1937. Bought a Philadelphia pharmacy, 1869; experimented with sarsaparilla root. Sold dried roots to brew at home into “root beer.” Sold it as a cold drink at Centennial Exposition, 1876. Organized a company in 1890. Later pioneered in processing condensed milk, sold process to Nestle Co., 1918. His home “Melrose” formerly owned by William Simpson, at corner of North Highland Ave. and Old Lancaster Pike, Merion. Active in Merion Friends Meeting. Published “A Short Historical Sketch of the Old Merion Meeting House, Merion, Pa.” 1917.
Hoffman, Howard Stanley. 1925-. Experimental psychologist. Ph.D. U. Connecticut, 1957. Faculty, U. Connecticut, 1953-57; Pennsylvania State U., 1957-70; Professor psychology, Bryn Mawr College, 1970-. Specialty: behavior analysis and mechanisms of learning, retention. Editorial boards of professional journals. Author, with wife Alice: Oral History and World War II: An Analysis of One Soldier’s Memories (1988).
Hofmann, Josef. 1876-1957 (Poland). Pianist. Began playing age 4. Age 10 played Beethoven concerto with Berlin Philharmonic. First appeared in United States in 1887. Director Curtis Institute of Music, 1927-38. Composer under early pseudonym: Michel Dvorsky. His house in Merion became the Buten (Wedgwood) Museum after his move to California, 1939.
Holland, G. William. 1924-. Commercial photographer, 1948-. President, Antique Toy Collectors of America, 1968-69. Editor: The Toy Chest, the organization’s periodical. Photographer, American Antique Toys (1980); American Cars & Trucks (1987); The Windsor Style, volumes 1 (1980) and 2 (1987). Residence: Gladwyne.
Hooper, The Reverend John. Founded the Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church c. 1878, first as a mission, oldest black congregation on the Main Line, with George Barrick and Samuel Curtis, coworkers. The Reverend J. B. Hill served the mission, supervised building of present church, 1889.
Hopkins, The Reverend Barry. 1943-. Pastor, Saints Memorial Baptist Church, Bryn Mawr. B.A., Virginia Union U., 1968. D. Ministry degree, Lancaster Theological Seminary. Host, “On Target” and “Dimension 7” on cable television. Member, executive committee of Overseas Ministries, National Council of Churches, 1971-. Community Award, Jaycees, 1958. Outstanding Man of Year. U.S. Chamber of Commerce. Chapel of Four Chaplains Award, 1983. Executive Director of Main Line Martin L. King Association.
Hottel, Althea Kratz. (Mrs. Abram Stauffer H.) 1907-. B.S. U. of Pennsylvania, 1929, Ph.D., 1940. Social Service Department, Graduate Hospital, 1930-33; dean, Queens College, 1935-36; dean of women, lecturer on sociology at U. of Pennsylvania, 1936-59. National president, AAUW, 1947-51. Director, Commission on Education of Women American Council on Education, 1953-55; member, National Committee for Marshall Plan. Board of Directors, Baldwin School, 1947-62; Philadelphia Gimbel Award, 1947; Distinguished Daughter of Pennsylvania, 1950. Others. Author: Prosecutions and Treatment of Women Offenders and the Economic Crisis (1934); How Fare American Women? (1955); articles. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Humphrey, Benjamin. C. 1661-1737. Arrived this area 1683. Family and descendants eventually owned 1900 acres that include parts of today’s Bryn Mawr, North Haverford, North Ardmore, Mill Creek and land north of Wynnewood. He was a first cousin of Rowland Ellis of the original “Bryn Mawr” plantation. Today’s Bryn Mawr was originally “Humphreysville.”
Iizuka, Horoshi. 1945 (Japan)-. Violin maker. Trained in Japan and Germany. Nationally known for instruments of fine tone and physical beauty. Residence: Lower Merion Township and area since 1977.
Jacobs, Henry. 1817-1897. Stonemason. Chief mason for Reading Railroad; built Flat Rock Tunnel, 1838; several bridges. Invented the brace derrick used in stone construction. Son Benjamin was a school director of Pencoyd District, 1880s; instrumental in reorganization of Lower Merion School system. Residence: Belmont Hills.
Johnson, Alba Boardman. 1858-1935. A.B. Central High, 1876. Entered Baldwin Locomotive Works as junior clerk, 1877. Became partner, Burnham, Williams & Co.(owners of Baldwin Locomotive Works), 1896. After incorporation, 1909, he rose through ranks to president, 1911. Resigned 1919. Director of banks and insurance companies. President, American Manufacturers’ Export Association, YMCA, Presbyterian Social Union, 1906-7. President, Jefferson Medical College and Hospital. President, Pennsylvania State Chamber of Commerce. Bought “Castana” built by William Joyce, Montgomery Ave., Rosemont, now “New Sharon” of the Sisters of Holy Child Jesus.
Jones, Rufus Matthew. 1863-1948. Quaker professor and writer, Haverford College, 1893-1934. A founder of American Friends Service Committee. Chairman of AFSCEuropean Relief, 1917-27. Author: A Dynamic Faith (1900); Haverford College–A History and an Interpretation (1933); The Radiant Life (1944)
Kamerdze, William E. 1892-1963. Publisher: Main Line Chronicle, 1924-53. As president of Ardmore Chamber of Commerce, he initiated custom of Christmas lights in the business section. President, Ardmore Fire Co. (Merion Fire Co.), 1936-39. Republican committeeman, Ardmore District #2 for 25 years.
Karcher, Walter T. 1881-1953. B.S. in Architecture, U. of Pennsylvania, 1901; American Academy in Rome, 1906; became member firm W. T. Karcher & Livingston Smith, 1910. Designed Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church group; Merion Tribute House; Penn Valley School; director, Merion Community Association. Residence: Merion.
Kern, Richard Arminius, M.D. 1891-1982. Professor U. of Pennsylvania Medical School, 1919-1934. Head of Department of Medicine, Temple U., vice president Board of Health, Lower Merion Township, 1934-54; president 1955-58. Chief of division of general medicine, Veterans Administration, 1946-47; president, Pennsylvania Medical Society, 1964-65. Residence: Wynnewood.
Kirkpatrick, Anne K. 1905-1988. Stockbroker. Married first to Enos Derham, Derham Custom Body Co. of Rosemont; married second to Robert J. Kirkpatrick, former vice president Ditto Corp. Army Air Corps Interceptor Command, WW II. With firm that became Janney Montgomery Scott, Inc. since 1945. Active in League of Women Voters. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Klein, Lawrence Robert. 1920-. Nobel Laureate in Economics, 1980. Faculty, U. of Pennsylvania 1958-; Benjamin Franklin Professor, 1968-. Guest faculty member in many countries. Chairman Board of Trustees, Wharton Econometric Forecasting Associates, 1969-80. Author: The Keynesian Revolution (1947); Textbook of Econometrics (1953); An Econometric Model of the US, 1929-1952 (1955); Essay on the Theory of Economic Prediction (1968); others. Editor: International Economic Review, 1959-65. Residence: Wynnewood.
Kling, Vincent O. 1916-. Architect. Private practice, Philadelphia, 1946-. Trustee Columbia U., Episcopal Academy, U. of Pennsylvania. Won First Honor Award, American Institute of Architects, 1954, Samuel F. B. Morse Medal for Architecture, 1968, others. Designed Chapel at Episcopal Academy, Harriton High School, Lankenau Hospital. Residence: Penn Valley.
Kohn, Joseph. 1887-1974. Graduate Central High School, 1906, U. of Pennsylvania, 1910 (Civil Engineer). Founded Universal Dental Co. (artificial teeth), 1917. President Allied Jewish Appeal, 1936. President Akiba Hebrew Academy, 1955-69. Instrumental in moving Akiba Hebrew Academy. from Har Zion Synagogue in Wynnefield, Philadelphia to five acre site, corner North Highland Ave. and Old Lancaster Rd., Merion in 1956 utilizing a mansion formerly owned by M. J. McMenamin. Residence: Merion.
Koop, Charles Everett, M.D. 1916-. Educated Dartmouth College, Cornell Medical School. Surgeon-in-chief, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Faculty, U. of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. Assistant secretary, United States Department Health and Human Services. United States Surgeon General in Reagan administration. Author: Memoirs of America’s Family Doctor. Former residence: Gladwyne.
Korn, Bertram Wallace. 1918-1979. Rabbi, historian. Author: American Jewry and the Civil War (1951); Jewish Roots in America (1953). Jews and Negro Slavery in the Old South (1962); Residence: Bala Cynwyd; lived in Wyncote at time of death.
Kramer, Berard (“Uncle Ben”). 1897-1980. Newspaper publisher and editor. Purchased the Ardmore Chronicle in 1953, renamed it Main Line Chronicle. Sold the newspaper in 1974. Wrote historical items for Main Line Times. Residence: Wynnewood.
Kraus, Hertha. C. 1897-1968 (Germany). Ph.D., 1919, U. of Frankfurt. Dismissed by Nazis as director Public Welfare in Cologne, 1933. Department Social Economy and Research, Bryn Mawr College, 1936-. Consultant to Department of Interior, Social Security Board, Department of State, United Nation Committees, 1930s-1950s. Worked in social welfare, American Friends Service Committee until 1968. Residence: Haverford
Kugler, Charles. 1805-1879. Inherited Seven Stars Inn, removed the bar, served no alcohol. For 36 years a township school director. Instrumental in establishing the first Wynnewood School (of logs) at corner of Lancaster Ave. and Wynnewood Rd., then a two-story building with living quarters for teacher. Schoolhouse burned in 1879. Another built; abandoned in 1916. In 1873, Kugler donated a site for St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, was 50 years Sunday School Superintendent, and for 16 years President, Lutheran Publication Society. Residence: Ardmore.
Kugler, Anna S., M.D. 1856-1930. Born in Ardmore. Attended Miss Markley’s School, Bryn Mawr. Member St. Paul’s Lutheran Church Medical Missionary in Guntur, India for 47 years. Buried: Old St. Paul’s Cemetery.
Kurtz, Howard G. 1880-1950. Secretary-Treasurer, Ardmore Ice Manufacturing Co. Resident of Ardmore 50 years. Hobby collecting photographs now part of Lower Merion Historical Society collection.
Laird, Warren P. 1851-1941. Architect. Taught architecture U. of Pennsylvania from 1891; Dean of Architecture, 1920-32. Residence: Merion.
Landis, William P. 1873-1961. Attorney for Merion Title & Trust Co. Charter member Ardmore Rotary Club. Member of original Lower Merion Board of Health, 1908. Served 50 years.
Latch, Edward Biddle. d. 1911. Served as chief engineer on Admiral Farragut’s flagship USS Hartford in Civil War Battle of Mobile Bay. Was the last commodore created by the United States Navy until President Franklin Delano Roosevelt reinstated the rank during WW II. Son of Gardiner Latch, grandson of Jacob Latch. Residence: “Willow Hall,” Latch’s Lane and Old Lancaster Ave., Merion.
Latch, Jacob. 1758-1845. Served in Washington’s army at Valley Forge. Known as “Washington’s Runner.” Owned “Rose Hill” on east side of Old Lancaster Ave., Bala-Cynwyd, and built “Willow Hall” across the street for son Gardiner, completed in 1833, razed in 1912. Latch’s Lane, in Merion, named for him.
Levitties, Samuel W. 1899-1992 (Russia). Graduate, Central High School, Wharton School of the U. of Pennsylvania. Business success (Adella Dress Co.). Worked for United States government (National Recovery Act, Department of Labor, Office of Price Administration) but refused salary. As a result Congress passed a law permitting persons to work for $1 a year. Founded outpatient psychiatry department at the Albert Einstein Medical School. Endowed chair of applied psychiatry at Jewish Theological Seminary; gave 57 acres in Bucks County to Federation of Jewish Agencies for a children’s camp. Residence: Bala-Cynwyd
Lewis, Edward Davis. 1927-. Architect and artist; grandson of Theobald Harsch, road builder along the Main Line. U. of Pennsylvania, student of Louis Kahn; American Academy of Fine Arts, Rome; Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. Leader in efforts to preserve the Historic Mill District of Gladwyne. Residence: Gladwyne.
Lincoln, Joseph Crosby. 1870-1944. Novelist known especially for Cape Cod stories: The Aristocratic Miss Brewster (1927); Head Tide (1932); others. Residence: Villanova. Lippincott, Joseph Wharton, Jr. 1914-. With J. B. Lippincott Co., Publishers, Philadelphia, 1937-78; president, 1958-78; chairman board, 1974-78; director Harper & Row, Publishers; trustee Ludington Library, Philadelphia Free Library. Served with American Field Service, 1943-45. Director Historical Society of Pennsylvania, 1966-78.Author: The Author and His Audience: The History of J.B. Lippincott (1967). Residence: Haverford and Florida.
Littell, Franklin Hamlin. 1917-. Education: Cornell College (Iowa), Union Theological Seminary, Yale U. Served and taught in various churches, seminaries, 1940-66. Chief Protestant advisor to United States High Commissioner, post-war Germany. President, Iowa Wesleyan College, 1966-69. Professor of religion at Temple U., 1969-. Vice chairman, Foundation for Reformation Research; national chairman, Institute for American Democracy; president, Christians Concerned for Israel, Inc., 1971-. Author of books and articles. Residence: Merion
Liversidge, Horace Preston. 1878-1955. Drexel Institute, 1897. With Philadelphia Electric Co. from 1898. Began as inspector; rose through ranks to be president, 1938-47;Chairman of board, 1947-55. Director, subsidiaries; director bank and insurance companies. Chairman of Board of Drexel Institute; trustee, Jefferson Medical College; board U. of Pennsylvania Museum. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Logue, J. Gordon. 1923-1988. Lawyer. Senior vice president, corporate secretary, general counsel, Pennwalt Corp. for more than 20 years. Member, Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association Law Group; advisory board, Yale Law School. FormerDemocratic committeeman. Residence: Merion.
Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth. 1807-1882. As visitor to the 1876 Centennial, stayed briefly at a boarding house in Rosemont owned by C. J. Arthur. His poem “River of Tomorrow” said to have been inspired by his viewing the Schuylkill River.
Lorimer, Graeme. 1903-. Writer with wife, Sarah. Authors of “Maudie” stories in 1930s, first appearing in Ladies Home Journal of which G. Lorimer was fiction editor, 1934-44. Also: Men Are Like Street Cars (1932), Stag Line (1934); others. Former residence: Haverford (currently, Paoli).
Lovatt, George Ignatius. 1872-1958. Architect. Designed St. Matthias Church and Rectory, 1906-8; School, 1916-17. Also, Rosemont College’s Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library addition, 1935. He and son practiced together, 1925-1950s.
Lovatt, George I., Jr. 1900-1973. Architect. Appointed by Mayor Clark as architect for Philadelphia, 1952-1960. Residence: Cynwyd, 1931-1973.
Love, Nancy. 1927-. Editor: Philadelphia Magazine, 1964-71. Author: Guide to Philadelphia (1964). Editor: Boston Magazine, 1971-74; American Home Magazine, 1976-77; Cue, 1977-80. Residence: Villanova (formerly); New York City, currently.
Ludlum, Seymour DeWitt. 1876-1966. Psychiatrist. Chief of staff, Neuropsychiatric Department of Philadelphia General Hospital. Converted former Chadwick Mill buildings and 53 acres on Mill Creek at Rose Glen into “Gladwyne Colony” to treat mentally ill and research causes of mental illness, 1912. The “sturdy stone buildings” dated back to 1835. Dr. Ludlum believed mental illness to be influenced by physical pathology. Author of many papers. Property sold to Dorrance, 1967. By 1968 all but two buildings had been razed.
Lunt, William Edward. 1882-1956. Professor history, Haverford College, 1917-52; editor: American History Review, 1945-48; author of scholarly books on papacy; History of England (1928). Residence: Haverford.
Macfarlan, Douglas C., M.D. 1886-1960. Ear-nose-throat specialist; practiced medicine with father, Dr. Malcolm M. and brother, Dr. Donald M. Professor of otology, Graduate School of Medicine, U. of Pennsylvania. Expert on history of southeastern Pennsylvania, President, Lower Merion Historical Society, 1954-60. Author of many articles related to history as well as medicine. Residence: Ardmore.
Magee, James & Michael. Mid 19th century saddlery and harness merchants; supplied military during Mexican and Civil Wars. Owned 302 acres along Gulley Run (later part of Penn Valley) first patented in 1682 to Welshman John Thomas. James Magee called “father of the Pennsylvania Railroad” because of his role in persuading Gov. FrancisShunk to sign the Incorporation Act. He also founded the Westmoreland Coal Co.
Maier, William Morris. 1909-1982. Lawyer. Haverford College, 1931; U. of Pennsylvania Law School, 1935. With International Grenfell Association, Labrador, 1931-32. Partner, Cahall & Maier, 1936-42, 45-48. American Friends Service Committee, Hawaii, 1942-45. Associate W.N. West, 3rd., 1948-54, and MacCoy, Evans & Lewis, 1954. Director, Friends Fiduciary Corp.; Trustee Society of Friends Philadelphia Yearly Meeting. and Westtown School; Board of Managers, Haverford College, 1938. Trustee Cheyney State College, 1941-68. Residence: Villanova.
Mangel, Benjamin. 1925-. With wife, Deborah, owner-operators of the Mangel Gallery (contemporary art), Philadelphia, formerly in Bala Cynwyd, 1970-80. Visiting artists under their auspices: Alex Katz, Red Groomes, Harry Bertoia; others. Residence: Merion. Mann, Theodore Ralph. 1928- (Czechoslovakia). Lawyer. Goodis, Greenfield & Mann, 1965-71. Mann & Ungar, 1971-. Co-chairman, governing council of American Jewish Congress, 1972-. President, Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater Philadelphia 1968-71. Chairman, International Community Relations Advisory Council, 1970-. Others. Residence: Wynnewood.
Manning, Helen Taft. 1891-1987. Entered Bryn Mawr College, 1908; dropped out two years to assist her father, President Taft, in White House. Graduate Bryn Mawr College, 1915. Served as dean, age 26, and acting president age 28 Bryn Mawr College. Ph.D. Yale U., 1925. History faculty, Bryn Mawr College, 1925-1957; dean of Graduate School. Author: British Colonial Government after the American Revolution 1782-1820; Revolt of French Canada 1800-1835. Husband Dr. Frederick Manning, professor American history, Swarthmore College
Mayock, Robert Lee, M.D. 1917-. Chief pulmonary disease section, Philadelphia General Hospital, 1959-72; professor medicine U. of Pennsylvania Medical School, 1970-. Diplomate, American Board. International Medicine. Fellow, A.C.P., American College Chest Physicians, regent, 1972-. Officer professional organizations. Residence: Wynnewood.
McBride, Katharine. 1904-1976. Educator. Degrees from Bryn Mawr College. Research in psychology with Dr. Theodore Weisenburg. Faculty, Bryn Mawr College, 1935-1940, chairman, Education and Child Development Department. Founded Child Study Institute of Bryn Mawr College. Dean, Radcliffe College, 1940-42. President, Bryn Mawr College, 1942-70. Member, Montgomery County Commission on Mental Health and Mental Retardation; director other organizations. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
McClintock, Lillie A. Ward. 1858-1959. Wrote memories of “Main Line’s Golden Age” and her youth, Main Line Chronicle. Residence: Wynnewood.
McConnell, Samuel K. 1901-1985. Stockbroker. Janney Montgomery Scott. Lower Merion Township commissioner, 1942-1944; Montgomery County commissioner. Elected to United States House of Representatives in special congressional election, 1944 (after Congressman Ditter died in plane crash); re-elected in November. Residence: Wynnewood.
McConnon, James Charles. 1926-. Attorney. L.L.B. U. of Pennsylvania, 1951. Associate, Paul & Paul, 1952-, partner, 1958-. Specialty: patents. Vice chairman and chairman, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority, 1964-78; officer, American Transit Association, 1972-74; National. Transport Policy Study Commission, 1976-. Chairman, Republican Committee of Lower Merion and Narberth. Residence: Wynnewood.
McLean, William Lippard. 1852-1931. Publisher: Philadelphia Evening Bulletin, 1895-1931. Director Associated Press, 1896-1924. Residence: Wynnewood.
McLean, William Lippard III. 1927-. Philadelphia Evening Bulletin staff, 1949-1980; publisher, 1975-80. President, Independent Publishers, Inc., 1976, Chairman of Board 1980-. Residence: Wynnewood.
Medary, Milton B., Jr. 1874-1929. Architect. Designed St. John’s Episcopal Church and Rectory, Bala Cynwyd; Memorial Chapel at Valley Forge; Bryn Mawr Hospital buildings 1910. Residence: Bala.
Meigs, Cornelia Lynde. 1884-1973. Educator. Faculty Bryn Mawr College. Author: Invincible Louisa (1933); Wild Geese Flying (1957); play, Helga and the White Peacock (1922). Editor: A Critical History of Children’s Literature (1953).
Monaghan, Paul, Sr. 1885-1968. Architect. Designed new building, the “minor seminary” for underclassmen, 1925-28, at that time considered the largest building under one roof in United States, and St. Martin’s Chapel, St. Charles Seminary, Overbrook. Residence: Wynnewood.
Montagu, Ashley. 1905 – (London). Anthropologist, social biologist. Ph.D. Columbia U., 1937. Curator: Physical Anthropology, Wellcome Historical Medical Museum, 1929-30; associate professor anatomy Hahnemann Medical College and Hospital, 1938-49; visiting professor at several universities, lecturer Princeton U., 1978-82; director, Institute Natural Philosophy, 1979-. Family affairs editor, anthropology advisor NBC-TV, 1954. Author of 50+ books. Locally, headed the Cynwyd Parent Study Group for Cynwyd School.
Moore, Christian Earl. 1894-. Son of Jane Lorimer Hagy Moore ( Hagy Family). Educator and business manager. Graduate Haverford School, 1910; instructor there until,1920. Joined Drexel & Co. Alumni president. Haverford School; elder, Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church, 1934-. Editor: 75th Anniversary Booklet of the church. Life-long resident of Lower Merion. Residence: Rosemont.
Morgan Family. 17th century-. Edward Morgan and wife Elizabeth arrived Philadelphia 1683. Members, Haverford-Radnor-Merion Friends Meeting. Daughter Sarah married Squire Boone, had son Daniel. Other children married into Cadwalader, Morris, Roberts, Evans, Lloyd and Robeson families.
Morley, Christopher Darlington. 1890-1957. Writer. He and brothers Frank and Felix all won Rhodes scholarships as graduates of Haverford College. Author: Parnassus on Wheels (1917); Kitty Foyle (1939); Travels in Philadelphia (1920); some 50 others. Editor: (1937) revised Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations.
Morley, Felix Muskett. 1894-1982. Born in Haverford. Political scientist, editor. Graduate Haverford College, 1915. Ambulance work with British army Flanders, 1915-16. Philadelphia Public Ledger, 1916-17. Rhodes scholar, 1919-21; resident fellow, London School of Economics and Political Science. Guggenheim fellow; Ph.D. Brookings Institution,1936. Editor: Washington Post, 1933- 40; Pulitzer Prize, 1936. President of Haverford College, 1940-45. Author: Our Far East Assignment (1926);The Society of Nations (1932); The Foreign Policy of the U.S. (1951); Freedom and Federalism (1959, 1981); others.
Morris, Israel. 1778-1870. Owned Green Hill Plantation, intact until 1910, Overbrook section of Lower Merion; part of original Thomas Lloyd purchase from William Penn in 1682. Israel was born in Reading because his family had left Philadelphia during British occupation. As broker and commission merchant, refused to arm vessels for India Packet in 1812; resolved to move to Green Hill to operate a farm. Grandson Charles Morris Wood sold mansion and 18 acres to Friends’ Central School, 1925.
Mudd, Emily Hartshorne. 1898-. Born in Merion. Counselor, educator, researcher. Ph.D. U. of Pennsylvania, 1950. Married Dr. Stuart Mudd. Director Marriage Council, Philadelphia. Professor, family study and psychiatry, U. of Pennsylvania. Lecturer,Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore colleges. Distinguished Daughter of Pennsylvania, 1959; many honors. Author: Marriage Counseling: A Casebook; others.
Mutch, Ada. 1905- (Scotland). Came to United States in1912. Graduate Baldwin School. Taught physical education at Baldwin. In 1933 entered Nursing School, Presbyterian Hospital, New York City. Served, 1942-45 Army Nurse Corps. Director of Nursing, Lankenau Hospital, 1955-1970. President, S.E. League for Nursing. Member, original committee of Main Line Meals on Wheels. Distinguished Daughter of Pennsylvania.Active in Community Health Affiliates, Senior Outreach Services, Lower Merion-Narberth Coalition on Aging and Adult Services. Residence: Penn Wynne.
Mutch, The Reverend Andrew. 1870-1964 (Scotland). Graduate U. of Edinburgh. Pastor, Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church, 1912-1931; minister emeritus, 1936. President, Presbyterian Board of Pensions, 1927. Active in community, Main Line Federation of Churches, Presbyterian Hospital, Philadelphia.
Myers, Hyman. 1941-. Nationally known restoration architect and senior partner, Vitetta Group. Founder and director, Studio Four for restoration, renovation and adaptive reuse. Major projects: Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts; porches of Baldwin School; State Capitol Building in Harrisburg; in-house architect for Academy of Music; Bellevue-Stratford Hotel; National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.). Residence: Merion.
Nelson, Cleopatra McClellan (Mrs. Russell L.) Graduate Cheyney U., chairman Lower Merion – Narberth Democratic Committee, 1981-84. Officer, Main Line Branch, National Association Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, Inc. Secretary, Main Line Branch NAACP, 1968-88; secretary, Ardmore Community Development Corp. Organized “Back Yard Fun” for neighborhood children, 1957-61. Ardmore Centennial Committee; 1966 Sojourner Truth Award, Negro BPW, Inc.; Chapel of Four Chaplains Award, 1968; Who’s Who in Philadelphia, 1968; Who’s Who in Black America, 1975-88. Others. Residence: Ardmore.
Nicholson, Percy, M.D. 1881-1962. Montgomery County’s first pediatrician. Haverford College and U. of Pennsylvania. Arranged to vaccinate 500 children in Bryn Mawr against polio using vaccine from New York State Health Department, 1935. The safer vaccine came in 1954. Inventor of portable blood pressure instrument. President, Philadelphia Pediatric Society; Montgomery County Medical Society. Residence: Ardmore.
Oakley, Amy Ewing. 1882-1963. Travel writer. Attended Baldwin and Agnes Irwin Schools. Married Thornton Oakley. Articles: “Hill Towns of the Pyrenees” (1923); “Scandinavia Beckons” (1938); “Our Pennsylvania: Keys to the Keystone State”(1950), many others.
Oakley, Thornton. 1881-1953. Artist, author. Studied illustration under Howard Pyle at Chadds Ford. Gave collection of Pyle work to Free Library in Philadelphia. Painted murals in the Franklin Institute about origin and progress of science. Taught at School of Industrial Art, Philadelphia. President, Philadelphia Water Color Club, 1938-53. Residence: Villanova.
Oakley, Violet. 1874-1961. Artist. Studied with Cecilia Beaux, Pennsylvania Academy Fine Arts, and Howard Pyle, Drexel Institute Designed stained glass windows for Mary K. Gibson’s Maybrook, 1903. Designed murals for Governor’s reception room, for Senate Chamber, Superior Court Room, Harrisburg. Lived at Red Rose Inn, Villanova, 1902-6.
O’Connell, Paddy. b.1876. Horse trainer. Won more than 2000 awards showing horses. In 1938 his entry won “World’s Best Harness Horse.” Trained “The Whip” for Miss Constance Vauclain of Bryn Mawr. Was presented to King George V, and known as “theIrish Ambassador” in horse circles. Residence: Haverford.
Odell, Edward. Manager Belmont Driving Park (now Merion Park residential area). Bought General Wayne Inn, 1891, and made it headquarters of harness racing fans.
Okada, Itaro. b. Japan; came to United States in 1908. Photographer. Movie cameraman for D.W. Griffith, pioneer movie director; among the first to film close-ups of actors.Opened shop as portrait photographer in New York City, later Ardmore. Gov. George H. Earle of Pennsylvania befriended him during WW II.
Park, Marion Edwards. 1876-1960. B.A., M.A., Ph.D.,1918, Bryn Mawr College. Dean, Radcliffe College. Third president, Bryn Mawr College, 1922-42. Taught classics.
Parsons, Luther. 1858-1955. Born in Ardmore. Educated at Old Merion Academy School. A master blacksmith and manufacturer of carriages, buggies, wagons in Cynwyd. Chairman, building committee of Lower Merion School District Board; Superintendent, Union Sunday School at Fairview; a founder of Union Fire Co.; founding member of Lower Merion Historical Society. President for 40 years, Lower Merion Company for the Detection and Prosecution of Horse Thieves & Recovery of Stolen Horses.
Pearce, Josiah. 1841-1915. Born Athensville (Ardmore), lived most of life there. President Merion Title & Trust. His recollections of Ardmore printed in Ardmore Chronicle, 1906-1907.
Pennypacker, Isaac Rusling. 1852-1935. Newspaperman, poet, historian, publisher. Wrote on Civil War and the American Revolution Edited Autobiography of Governor Pennypacker (his brother). Residence: “Hillbrook,” Ardmore.
Peskin, Matt. 1954-. Founder National Association of Townwatch and the National Night Out which grew from 400 in 1984, to about 4600 communities participating, 1986, to foster crime prevention. Awards from Citizens Crime Community, WCAU-TV, Main Line Jaycees, Montgomery County Bar Association. Editor: On Patrol for Community Watch. Office: Wynnewood.
Peters, Frederick C. 1884-1981. Moved to Lower Merion in 1908 from Massachusetts. Developed landscaping business. State legislature, 1925-35; County commissioner, 1935-56; led move to establish County Planning Commission, 1950. Appointed Collector of United States Customs for Port of Philadelphia by President Eisenhower, 1955. Tax collector, Lower Merion, 1961. Known as “Montgomery County’s Mr. G.O.P.”
Joseph Newton Pew. 1848-1912. Founder, Sun Co. Youngest of 10 children, born near Mercer, Pa. Began business in real estate. In 1876 became partner of E. O. Emerson of Titusville, Pa. and formed Penn Fuel Co., later Peoples Natural Gas Co. First to supply natural gas to a major city (Pittsburgh). By 1886 they bought two Ohio oil leases; 1895 built first refinery, Toledo, O. In 1899 Pew bought Emerson’s interest in Sun Oil Co. (Ohio). In 1901 began building a second refinery at Marcus Hook, Pa. which became part of the Sun Oil enterprise. Moved family to Bryn Mawr, 1904. Purchased “Glenmede” at Old Gulph Rd. & Morris Ave. in 1908. Children: Arthur E., Sr.; J. Howard; Joseph Newton, Jr.; Mary Ethel; Mabel Anderson (later Mrs. H. A. W. Myrin).
J. Howard Pew. 1882-1971. Graduate Grove City College, age 18. Joined father’scompany, 1901. Developed commercial uses for new Spindletop crude oil; assistant superintendent and vice president. President of company, 1912-1947; developed Sun Shipbuilding Co. He and brother Joe made Sun Oil a giant industry. Residence: “Knollbrook”, Ardmore.
Joseph Newton Pew, Jr. 1886-1963. Track and field athlete. Graduate Cornell U., c. 1908. Vice president, Sun Oil, 1912-1947; chairman of board, 1947-63. Innovator: blue gas and custom blending for better merchandising; pipeline from Marcus Hook to Great Lakes markets. First president of Sun Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Co. Liberal donor to Republican Party. Residence: Mill Creek Rd. and Dodds Lane, Ardmore.
M. Ethel Pew. 1884-1979. Lived at “Glenmede”. In 1953 arranged gift of former William Wood property in Gladwyne, to Lutherans for their Deaconess House. Her home is now the Glenmede Graduate Center of Bryn Mawr College.
Mabel Anderson Pew Myrin. 1889-1972. Benefactor, Presbyterian Hospital; Lankenau Hospital; Saunders House (Overbrook); others.
Arthur E. Pew, Jr. 1899-1965. Production department, Sun Oil from 1921. Chief engineer, 1926-30; vice president, 1930-48. Director, Mining & Development Corp. from 1955. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Pickett, Clarence. 1884-1965. B.D. Hartford Theological Seminary, 1913. Executive secretary, American Friends Service Committee, 1929-1950. Known for his work on problems of the Great Depression and immigration. Philadelphia Award, with Rufus Jones, on behalf of AFSC, 1939. Member first Quaker team at Quaker House, United Nations. Author: For More Than Bread (1950). Residence: Haverford.
Pincus, David. 1926-. Manufacturer of men’s clothing, Pincus; Bros.-Maxwell. Collector of modern art, principally 1950s-80s. Trustee, Philadelphia Museum of Art. Residence: Wynnewood.
Pittman, Hobson. 1900-1972. Artist. Faculty Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Philadelphia Museum of Art, and director of art at Friends’ Central School, 1931-58. His studio on New Gulph Rd., Bryn Mawr, now part of Bryn Mawr College.
Potok, Chaim. 1929-. Author, artist, editor. Ordained rabbi, 1954. Ph.D. U. of Pennsylvania, 1965. Faculty, Teachers Institute, Jewish Theological Seminary; editor: Jewish Publication Society, 1965-74. Chaplain in Korean War. Author: The Chosen (1967); The Promise (1969); My Name is Asher Lev (1972); In The Beginning (1975); Wanderlings (1978); short stories, articles. Residence: Merion.
Price, Major Joseph. 1753-1856. Life-long resident of Lower Merion. Fought as a private in American Revolution Gained rank of major (cavalry) in War of 1812. Built the inn at corner (today) Lancaster Ave. and Clover Hill Rd. Wrote diary, 1788-1828 that is valuable account of contemporary times in Lower Merion. Contains references to Tunis, Roberts, Jones, Wister, Latch, Grow, Stadelman, Leech and other families.
Price, William L. 1861-1916. Architect. With brother Frank, and firm of Price and McLanahan, designed “Woodmont” in Gladwyne for Alan Wood, Jr.; “Swastika” in Merion for Edward Bok; “Yorklynne” for John Gilmore in Merion; “Melrose” for Charles. E. Hires in Merion. Among first to use reinforced concrete (Traymore and Blenheim hotels, Atlantic City). Later in life he worked to develop good moderate-cost housing.
Quinn, Arthur Hobson. 1875-1960. Professor and author. Graduate U. of Pennsylvania. Professor of English, U. of Pennsylvania, 1908-38; John Welsh Centennial Professor of History and English Literature, 1939-45. Author: Pennsylvania Stories (1899); histories of drama; other books, articles on American literature Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Quinn, John Albert. 1932-. Chemical engineer. Ph.D. Princeton U., 1959. U. of Illinois, 1959-70. U. of Pennsylvania professor chemical engineering, 1971-; chairman of department, Robert D. Bent Professor; Member National Academy of Engineering; American Chemical Society; American Institute Chemical Engineers (Colburn Award 1966); AAAS. Residence: Merion.
Ratledge, Louise. See Almy, Ann.
Rea, Samuel. 1855-1929. President, Pennsylvania Railroad, 1913-25. Member, executive committee on national defense of railroads, 1917. Owned Waverly Heights in Gladwyne, in 1988 site of retirement community “Waverly Heights.” Trustee, Bryn Mawr Hospital; active in Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church. Author: The Railways Terminating in London.
Read, Conyers. 1881-1959. Professor, history, Princeton U. and U. of Chicago. Author: Mr. Secretary Walsingham and the Policy of Queen Elizabeth–3 vols. (1925); others. Editor: American History Review; Journal of Modern History. Residence: Villanova.
Rhoads, James, M.D. 1828-1895. Physician in Germantown, Quaker; close friend of Joseph Taylor, founder of Bryn Mawr College. Served as president of the college from 1885-1894.
Rhodes, Emily Borie. 1851-1929. She and husband James moved to Ardmore in 1883, helped found St. Mary’s Episcopal Church, 1887. She started a sewing society to help poor women, paying $1 per week. To aid more needy housewives, the Rhodes rented a cottage and started St. Mary’s Laundry, then bought the former Merion Cricket Club house. Hired 90-100 women year round.
Richards, Alfred Newton. 1876-1966. Pharmacologist. Yale U., Ph.D. Columbia, 1901. Professor pharmacology U. of Pennsylvania, 1910-46. Many awards. Trustee Rockefeller Foundation, 1937-41. Author: papers on action of chloroform, histamine and function of kidneys. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Righter, John. C. 1733-1823. Built grist/saw mill at Mill Creek. When it failed, he tried paper making which succeeded. Married (first) Hannah Tunis, daughter of Anthony Tunis; (second) Jane McAfee who ran a tavern at corner of Mill Creek Rd. and (today) Montgomery Ave., Ardmore.
Roberts, John. 1648-1724 (Wales). Quaker, arrived America in 1683. Married Gainor Pugh (Ap Hugh), Merion Meeting, 1684. Held office as Justice of Peace, was elected to Provincial Assembly. Built original Pencoyd house near today’s City Ave. in Bala Cynwyd.
Roberts, Robert. 1685-1768. Son of John and Gaynor Roberts; second proprietor of Pencoyd. Married Sidney Reese. Left 180 acres to son, John.
Roberts, John. 1710-1776, surveyor, who married Rebecca Jones, great-granddaughter of Dr. Thomas Wynne. John and Rebecca had 12 children. They were third proprietors of Pencoyd.
Roberts, John Algernon. 1751-1815. fourth proprietor of Pencoyd. Served in American Revolutionary army, disowned by Quaker Meeting. Married Tacy Warner. Interested and active in agricultural reform; successful dairy farmer. Treasurer, Blockley and Merion. Roberts, Isaac Warner. 1789-1859, fifth proprietor of Pencoyd.
Roberts, Algernon Sidney. 1798-1865, founded Pencoyd Iron Works with brother Percival in 1852.
Roberts, Algernon. 1828-1868, worked at Pencoyd Iron Works, was highly enlightened employer of that time. Died of blood poisoning.
Roberts, George Brooke. 1833-1897, sixth proprietor of Pencoyd Farm. President of Pennsylvania Railroad, 1880-1897. A founder of St. Asaph’s Episcopal Church, Bala Cynwyd, on original Roberts property.
Roberts, Sarah Brinton. Wife of George Brooke Roberts, suggested several Welsh names for communities along the Main Line.
Roberts, Percival Jr. 1857-1943. Extended acreage in Penn Valley (bought by his father) to 571 acres. President of Pencoyd Iron Works which was sold to American Bridge Co., 1900, then to U.S. Steel, 1902. He remained as director of new firm. Built “Penshurst” in 1903 on Conshohocken State Rd. in Penn Valley. Developed pedigreed livestock. When township incinerator was built in Penn Valley, he sold his house for demolition.
Roberts, Algernon B. 1875-1909. One of first Lower Merion Township commissioners; president, board of commissioners, 1902-9. State senator. Republican party leader. Boies Penrose offered to make him governor if he would leave the “progressive” element and join the “regulars.” He died of tuberculosis at age 34. Bequeathed $10,000 to Lower Merion Township for playgrounds. Residence: “Windemere” on City Line Ave. near the river.
Roberts, T. Williams. 1878-1962. Insurance and real estate. Born Pencoyd Farms, Bala; eighth generation of Roberts’ to live there.
Roberts, John. C. 1728-1778. Prosperous miller, Mill Creek. Commissioner in 1773 for improving navigation on Schuylkill River. Member Committee of Correspondence in protest of Boston Port Bill, 1774. Delegate to Convention for the Province of Pennsylvania to oppose slave trade, 1775. Resented Washington’s troops taking crops and livestock for army use. As a Quaker and conscientious objector, fled to British side; was hanged for treason. Residence: Old Gulph Rd., Mill Creek.
Rodenbaugh, Henry Nathan. 1879-1966. Civil engineer; railroad executive. Structural engineer on track elevation, Philadelphia, Germantown & Norristown Railway. Board chairman of Rodenbaugh, Muller & Associates, consulting engineers. Manager of many railroad companies in eastern United States. President, Haverford Civic Association,active in Montgomery County Historic Society. Residence: Haverford.
Ross, Bernard. 1916-. Regional director President’s Commission on Fair Employment Practices, 1944-46; race relations adviser, Federal Public Housing Authority, 1946-48 (San Francisco). Dean of Bryn Mawr College School of Social Work and Social Research, 1970-. Member Montgomery County Child Welfare Advisory Board, 1963-70.Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Sargent, Gorham P., M.D. 1834-1890. Director of Hospital of the Good Shepherd for Children in rented farmhouse near Villanova College (c. 1874). President, Montgomery County Medical Society; delegate, Pennsylvania State Medical Society, American Medical Association. Uncle of John Singer Sargent, painter, (son of Gorham’s brother Fitzwilliam). Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Sargent, Ralph Millard. 1904-1985. English professor, Haverford College, 1949. Author: At the Court of Queen Elizabeth (1935); Book of the Renaissance (1952);Peter Kahn’s Travels in North America (1972); Biology in the Blue Ridge (1977); others. Residence: Haverford.
Saunders, Lawrence. 1890-1968. Son of W.B. Saunders, founder of medical publishing company, 1888, and owner 167-acre Idlewild Farm (Bryn Mawr, Gladwyne). B.S. Wharton School, 1914. Treasurer and director of company, 1916-36; president, 1936-58; chairman of board, 1958. Developed business into one of the two largest medical publishing firms. (Most acclaimed publication: Kinsey’s Sexual Behavior in the Human Male, 1948). Director Fidelity-Philadelphia Trust Co.; Board of Marriage Council; Women’s Medical College; active with Boy Scouts of America; Eagle Scout Patrol of St. Asaph’s Church.; a founder of Bridlewild Trails Association.
Saunders, Mrs. Dorothy. Former member board of W.B. Saunders Co.; gave Saunders Woods, 26 acres in Bryn Mawr, to the National Land Trust to be preserved as open space. Chairman of Saunders Foundation, Lawrence Saunders Fund.
Saunders, Sally Love. (Mrs. Carter Craigie). 1940-. Poet, educator. Faculty, Shipley School, 1962-65; Agnes Irwin School, 1964-65; Montgomery Country Day School, 1962;Waldron Academy, 1965-66; Phelps School, 1965-70. Pioneer in poetry therapy. Trustee, Saunders Foundation. Residence: Gladwyne.
Schaffer, Justice William Irwin. 1867-c.1955. Lafayette College, U. of Pennsylvania, and Villanova U. District Attorney, Delaware County, 1893-1900. State reporter of Pennsylvania, 1900-1919. Attorney general of Pennsylvania, 1919-1921. Justice of Supreme Court, 1921-1940. Chief Justice, 1940-1943. Retired, age 83, in 1950. Residence: Haverford.
Scheie, Harold G., M.D. 1909-. Renowned eye surgeon. Studied U. of Pennsylvania with Frances Heed Adler, professor of ophthalmology. Founded the Scheie Eye Instituteof Philadelphia, 1972. Residence: Ardmore.
Schnall, Maxine. Radio personality. With WCAU-AM, 1975-86, then WDVT-AM. In 1985 voted best talk show host in Philadelphia by Philadelphia Magazine. In 1988 with WMCA New York, program directed toward working women. Contributing editor for Woman’s Day magazine. Author. Residence: Wynnewood.
Scott, Bert L. 1889-1955. Pastor, Lower Merion Baptist Church (Bryn Mawr), 1936-55. President, Pennsylvania Baptist Convention, American Baptist Historical Society.
Scott, William Maxwell, Jr. 1904-. Engineer. Joined ITE Circuit Breaker Co., founded by his father, 1926. Holder of numerous patents. President, 1942-. Board of Liberty Mutual Life Insurance Co.; director, Struthers Dunn Inc.; treasurer, Burge TB Clinic (Philadelphia); Trustee, Haverford School; Manager, Franklin Institute, director, Drexel Institute of Technology. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Scott, William Reese, III. 1907-. Lawyer. U. of Pennsylvania, 1928, LL.B, 1931. Law practice in Doylestown, 1931-34. Joined Scott Paper Co., 1934; head legal department 1935-. Officer of company, 1939-58; vice president., general counsel, 1958-72; official, Brunswick Pulp & Paper Co., 1937-72. Board of governors Eastern Division, Pennsylvania Economy League, 1965-72; Chairman, advisory council U. of Pennsylvania Press, 1968-71; trustee U. of Pennsylvania, 1971-.
Scull, John F., Jr. 1906-1967. Graduate Lower Merion High School, Fels Institute of Local & State Government, CPA. Assistant Lower Merion Township Manager, 1953; Manager, 1957. Member International City Managers Association; Pennsylvania Local Government Secretaries Association; Association of Pennsylvania Municipal Managers; (president 1962-64).
Seixas, E. Victor, Jr. 1923-. Three times winner of men’s singles in Pennsylvania State Tennis Tournament at Merion Cricket Club; Wimbledon champion, 1953; mixed doubles champion, Wimbledon, 1953-56; Davis Cup team, 1951-57 (mixed doubles); United States champion, 1954. United States clay court singles champion, 1953-57. Member, Merion Cricket Club.
Shaffner, Henry and Bobbie. 1935- and 1937-. Music publishers and song writers, Bala Cynwyd. Founded Keynote Associates (publishers). Wrote “Philadelphia I Love You,” (1972); “Two Street Strut” (Mummers)(1976); “Pennsylvania Gee! It’s Great!” proposed as official state song; others. Members of ASCAP.
Shapiro, Norma Sondra Levy. 1928-. Federal judge. B.A., U. of Michigan, 1948. J.D., U. of Pennsylvania, 1951. Member firm of Dechert Price & Rhoads, 1956-78; Judge United States District Court for Eastern Pennsylvania, 1978-. Member, Lower Merion School Board, 1968-77; president, 1977. Officer and chairman, Human Relations Council of Lower Merion. Chairman, Commission on Women’s Rights, 1972, 74-75; Philadelphia Bar Association. Member many professional organizations. Residence: Penn Valley.
Shapp, Gov. Milton J. 1912-. Electrical engineer. B.S. Case Institute of Technology, 1933. Chairman of Board, Jerrold Corp. (Philadelphia), 1947-66. President, Shapp Corp., 1967-. Consultant, Peace Corps, 1961-1963; Consultant, U.S. Department of Commerce, 1961-63. Humanitarian Award of Pennsylvania State Baptist Convention, 1966; Reuben J. Miller Youth Award, 1964; William Penn Lodge Youth Award; others. Governor of Pennsylvania (Democrat), 1970-78. Residence: Merion.
Sharples, Wynne. 1923- Physician. Born in Merion. B.S. Radcliffe College, 1944; M.D. Columbia U., 1951; founder, Mucoviscidosis Foundation, 1954; founder, National Cystic Fibrosis Research Foundation, 1955; founder and president, Cystic Fibrosis Research Institute Pennsylvania, 1960-67; staff physician Temple U. Hospital, 1967-70. Honorary Life Trustee, Temple U. 1988 Residence: Florida.
Sharpless, Isaac. 1848-1920. President, Haverford College, 1887-1908. Professor mathematics and astronomy. Author numerous textbooks on astronomy, geometry, English. Author: A Quaker Experiment in Government: Two Centuries in Pennsylvania History (1884); Quakerism & Politics (1906).
Shaub, Harold Arthur. 1915-. Food processing company executive. With Campbell Soup Co., 1942-57; president, 1972-80. President, Pepperidge Farm, Inc., 1966-68; director, Scott Paper Co., United Medical Corp., Exxon Corp., R. H. Macy & Co. Trustee, Drexel University; Board of Managers, Franklin Institute. Residence: Gladwyne.
Sheetz (Scheetz or Schütz), Conrad. Died 1771. Descended from Dr. Johann Jacob Schütz, Protestant minister, who never came to United States but owned 428 acresin Germantown. Conrad arrived in 1737. In 1748 he purchased the David Davis fulling mill on Mill Creek plus 100 acres, built a second mill in 1768. Bought rags from Benjamin Franklin to make quality paper. Franklin bought the paper. Sons Frederick and Benjamin ran the mills after father’s death.
Shipley, Hannah Taylor. (b. 1851); Elizabeth Anthony Shipley (b. 1859); Katharine Morris Shipley (b. 1869). Sisters opened the “Misses Shipley’s Bryn Mawr School” in 1894 with one pupil preparing for entrance examination to Bryn Mawr College. Quickly grew; boarding (until recent years) and day students. High academic standards.
Shortridge, N. Parker. Died 1915. With David S. Brown & Co., cotton & woolen goods; then George F. Peabody & Co., ultimately Shortridge Borden & Co. Retired from business, 1877. Director, Pennsylvania Railroad, 1874. Director, Philadelphia National Bank, Union Trust Co. of New York. Owned 170 acres along Indian Creek, with “Penn Grove” and “Clover Hill” residences, Wynnewood.
Skinner, Cornelia Otis. 1901-1979. Actress, monologist, play producer, author. Graduate Baldwin School, Bryn Mawr College. Wrote and produced: The Wives of Henry VIII; The Loves of Charles II; others. Author: Nuts in May (1950); Elegant Wits and Grand Horizontals (1962); with Emily Kimbrough, Our Hearts Were Young and Gay (1942); others.
Smedley, Horace W. 1863-1952. Founder of Smedley and Mehl (coal & lumber), Ardmore. One of seven original commissioners of Lower Merion Township, 1900. Police Commissioner four terms (eight years); Republican committeeman in Lower Merion, 1902-1950. Shaped first police force: six bicycle riding men wearing Rough Rider outfits (pay, $45 month). County Controller, 1920-1924.
Smith, Hilda Worthington (“Jane”). 1888-1984. Pioneer in workers’ education movements. Graduate in 1910 Bryn Mawr College, M.A. in ethics & psychology. In 1916established community center using classrooms for recreation and education programs. Age 33 became director Bryn Mawr College Summer School for Women Workers; served 13 yrs.
Smith, The Reverend Howard Wayne. 1870-1951. Pastor, First Baptist Church of Ardmore, 1916-1941. Executive director, Lower Merion Council of Defense, WW II. Wrote weekly column “This is the Main Line” for Main Line Times. Author, editor for American Baptist Publication Society. Moderator, Philadelphia Baptist Association.
Smith, Livingston. 1879-1961. Architect. Collaboration with Walter T. Karcher, 1916- 1951. Designed Merion Tribute House, 1923-24; Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church 1927;Chapel, 1941; Penn Valley School, 1949-51.
Snow, Edward H. 1890-1977. Native of Maine; graduate Bowdoin College, 1914. First Principal, Ardmore Junior High School, 1923-56. Suggested formation of Lower Merion Historical Society, 1949; served as secretary. Collector of famous autographs. Established scholarships to honor local men who died in WW II. Daughter, Geraldine Sutton Snow Mason was president of Lower Merion Historical Society, 1975-81, wrote historical sketches of Lower Merion for Main Line Times. Residence: Ardmore.
Soper, Alexander Coburn. 1904-. M.F.A., Ph.D. Princeton U., Rockefeller Foundation Fellow, Japan, 1935-38. Faculty, history of art, Bryn Mawr College, 1939-62; Professor,Institute of Fine Art, N.Y.U., 1960-. Author: Evolution of Buddhist Architecture in Japan (1942); books, articles, catalogs on Asian art and architecture. Residence: Rosemont.
Spaulding, Theodore O. 1902-1974. Howard U., U. of Detroit Law School. Judge in Philadelphia County Court. Counsel for NAACP. Appointed by Gov. Scranton to Superior Court of Pennsylvania, 1966. Subsequently elected to ten-year term. Buried Merion Memorial Park.
Stadelmann, William. 18th century. First of many of that family; proprietor, Black Horse Tavern, at Old Lancaster Pike and City Ave. (shown on Scull and Heap map of 1750). He first leased the property, then purchased building and 81 acres (1754). Served for a time as Supervisor of Highways for the township. Helped recruit militiamen, 1778.
Steere, Douglas Van. 1901-. Rhodes scholar, 1927. Ph.D. Harvard U., 1931. Philosophy faculty, Haverford College, 1928-; Thomas Wistar Brown Professor of Philosophy, 1950-64. Guest lecturer at universities, seminaries. Organizer, Quaker relief action, Finland, 1945; chairman, Friends World Commission, 1964-70; Quaker observer-delegate, Vatican II, 1963-65. Chairman of Board, Pendle Hill School. Religion and social studies, 1954-70; participant in Quaker missions. Author, editor, translator of books relating to his field. Editorial board of Religion in Life, 1961-80. Residence: Haverford.
Steigerwalt, John Latshaw, M.D. 1917-. Pediatrician. M.D.U. of Pennsylvania, 1942; faculty of pediatrics, U. of Pennsylvania. President, Community Health Association, 1979-1986. Member, then president, Montgomery County Medical Society; Chairman, Commission on Health Planning. Chairman of Board of Community Health Affiliates, 1986-. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Stephens, William Edwards. 1912-1980. Physicist. Ph.D. Cal Tech, 1938. Faculty, U. of Pennsylvania, 1941. Chairman, Department of Physics, 1955-56, 63-68. Dean, Faculty of Arts & Science, 1968. Author with G. P. Harnwell: Atomic Physics (1955); editor: Nuclear Fission and Atomic Energy (1950). Residence: Carroll Park (Penn Wynne).
Strawhridge, J. Clayton. 1895-1981. Son of Frederic H. Strawbridge, and grandson of founder of Strawbridge and Clothier, Justus C. Strawbridge (1838-1911). GraduateHaverford College, 1914, Phi Beta Kappa. Worked his way up the Strawbridge and Clothier hierarchy; 1946 elected a vice-president as well as secretary of board. Honored 1967 at summer home in Newport, R.I. as senior director, having completed 50 years with the company, nearly 30 as director. Residence: Merion.
Strawhridge, Robert Early. 1871-1963. Son of Justus C. Strawbridge. Lived in England and Bryn Mawr. Lifelong interest in polo, played on both sides of Atlantic. In 1921 managed American Team in International Polo Cup series. Retired from Strawbridge & Clothier management age 84; named Honorary Chairman for life. Director of Bryn Mawr Hospital and Church Farm School. Residence: “Meadow Lodge” in Bryn Mawr.
Streaper (Streeper), Abraham. Died 1794. Blacksmith, innkeeper, soldier in Continental Army. Bought inn, “Streeper’s Ordinary,” from Ben & Tacy Jones (today the “General Wayne Inn”) Montgomery Ave., Merion. Men from Upper and Lower Merion, Blockley and Kingsessing met at Streeper’s to form battalion of the militia, 1783. Daughter Mary (to pay creditors) sold inn to Edward Price who conveyed it back to her; she married Titus Yerkes who became the new innkeeper.
Strumia, Max, M.D. 1896-1972 (Italy). M.D. Univ. of Turin, 1920. U. of Pennsylvania Medical School, 1924-56. Director, laboratory of clinical pathology, Bryn Mawr Hospital, 1931-67. Pioneer in use of blood plasma; first to use it intravenously. Developed method of preserving plasma by freezing. Founding member American College of Pathologists. Received honors for research in use of blood plasma as treatmentfor shock. Residence: Narberth & Penn Valley.
Sturgis, Katharine Boucot, M.D. 1903-1987. Professor of medicine; Chairman, Department of Preventive Medicine at Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania. Pioneer crusader against smoking. First woman ever elected president of PhiladelphiaCounty Medical Society, 1968, and College of Physicians of Philadelphia, 1972-73. Faculty, internal medicine Graduate School Medicine, U. of Pennsylvania. Specialty: pulmonary diseases. Distinguished Daughter of Pennsylvania, 1964. Married Dr.Samuel Booth Sturgis. 1964. Editor: A.M.A. Archives Environmental Health, 1960-71. Author: “Dr. Sam.” Residence: Wynnewood.
Sturgis, Margaret Castex Jones, M.D. 1885-1962. Graduate Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania. Married Samuel Booth Sturgis, 1916. Chief of Gynecology & Obstetrics, Philadelphia General Hospital, 1942-46. Residence: Ardmore.
Sturgis, Samuel Booth, M.D. 1891-1983. Born West Manayunk (Belmont Hills); graduate Lower Merion High School, Haverford College, U. of Pennsylvania Medical School, 1914. Practiced in N.C., 1915-17; in France, WW I. Staff Bryn Mawr Hospital,1919. Member Swedish Colonial Society, National Huguenot Society, Lower Merion “Horse Co.”; others. Collector of medical prints, now the Samuel B. Sturgis Collection, College of Physicians, Philadelphia. Residence: Wynnewood.
Sturgis, Samuel R. 1856-1928. Inventor. Born in Lower Merion. Invented first street sweeper, dump cart and wagon. Father of Dr. Samuel Booth Sturgis. Buried Lower Merion Baptist Cemetery.
Subin, Bernard Lawrence. 1911-. Board of directors Coalition on Aging and Adult Services; served as treasurer, president Advisory Council, Montgomery County Commission on Aging. Volunteer teacher’s aide, Penn Valley Elementary Schoolkindergarten, 1977-. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Syng, Philip, Jr., 1703-1789 (Ireland). Philadelphia gold and silversmith, friend of Benjamin Franklin. A Syng inkstand used at signing of Declaration of Independence. Father of twenty-one children. Circa 1774 bought the former “Three Tuns” tavern and 45 acres on Lancaster Rd. (now Montgomery Ave. in Ardmore) and Mill Creek Rd., renamed it the “Prince of Wales Farm.” (Later the Anderson family owned the property, named it “St. Georges.”) Syng sold it in 1785, moved back to Philadelphia
Tatum, George Bishop. 1917-. Professor History of Art, U. of Pennsylvania School of Fine Arts, 1948-67. Author: Penn’s Great Town: 250 Years of Philadelphia Architecture in Prints and Drawings (1961); Philadelphia Georgian (1976). Current residence: Old Lyme, CT.
Taylor, Ethel. 1916-. National coordinator, and a founder, Women Strike for Peace. Her sculpture “Baby in the Air” given each year to Women Strike for Peace’s Woman or Man of the Year at annual luncheon. Served as liaison between servicemen detained in North Vietnam and families in United States. Member International Woman’s Year Commission, 1977. Author: Basic Primer on Star Wars for the Legitimately Confused. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Taylor, Joseph Wright, M.D. 1810-1880. Founder Bryn Mawr College. Quaker philanthropist. Board of Managers of Haverford College, 1854-80. His goal, to establish acollege for women where education would equal the best available for men. In 1885, thirty-six women entered Bryn Mawr College’s first class; twenty-four graduated in1889.
Thomas, Martha Carey. 1858-1935. Cornell U., Johns Hopkins, U. Leipzig, Ph.D. U. Zurich, 1882. Professor English and first dean, 1885-94, president, Bryn Mawr College, 1894-1922. Founded first graduate school of any woman’s college. Author: Education of Women (1900); Should the Higher Education of Women Differ from That of Men? (1901), The College (1905).
Thompson, Craig Ringwalt. 1911-. Professor English & history, Haverford College, 1960-68. Professor English, U. of Pennsylvania, 1968-. Editor: Erasmus’ Inquisitio de Fide (1950); Author: Colloquies of Erasmus (1965); Thomas More’s Translations of Lucian (1974); other scholarly works. Residence: Bryn Mawr.
Tily, Herbert James. 1866-1948 (England). Joined Strawbridge & Clothier in 1879. General manager, 1905-1944; vice president, 1922, president, 1927-46. Vice chairman of board, 1947. President, National Retail Dry Goods Association, 1925-26. American Guild of Organists. President Musical Art Club, 1922-23. Conducted Strawbridge & Clothier store concerts. Residence: Cynwyd.
Toll, Jean Barth. 1925-. Freelance editor for Harper & Row, university presses, others. Production editor of Philadelphia: Three Centuries of American Art, 1975-76; editor-in-chief : Montgomery County: The Second Hundred Years (1983). Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Toll, Seymour I. 1925-. Lawyer, publisher. Civil trial practitioner. Toll and Armstrong Publishing Co. Author: Zoned American. Residence: Bala Cynwyd.
Townsend, Anne B. (Towser). 1900-c.1975. Tennis titles: Delaware State Women’s Singles, 1919, 1933; Pennsylvania and Eastern Singles, 1921; others. Captain, First all-American hockey team, 1923. President, United States Field Hockey Association, 1927-32. Secretary, International Federation of Hockey Associations. Residence: Merion.
Tunis (Tunes), Anthony. Died 1762. Weaver and innkeeper. Married Welsh Tract woman in 1718, came to Lower Merion from Germantown, 1740. Bought 402 acres fromDr. Edward Jones’ estate. Operated the “Tunis Ordinary” (later, “General Wayne Inn”) on the Old Lancaster Pike opposite the road to Haverford. His son Joseph gave to Merion Friends Meeting about 6000 square feet of land adjoining burial ground, 1763.
Venturi, Robert. 1925-. Architect. Graduate Episcopal Academy, 1943; Princeton U., 1947, M.F.A., 1950. Firm of Venturi, Rauch & Scott Brown, 1964-. Professor architecture U. of Pennsylvania, 1951-65; Professor, Yale U., 1966-70. Trustee, American Academy Rome, 1966-70. President, Venturi, Inc., 1960-73. International awards. Author: Complexity and Contradiction in Architecture (1966). Former residences: Rosemont, Bryn Mawr.
Vernon, Leo. 1911-. Lawyer, corporate executive. Publicker Industries; chief counsel Continental Distilling Corp., World Affairs Council, United Fund; as member of Wynnewood Civic Association opposed high rise apartments in residential areas. Residence: Villanova.
Vogel, William W. 1926-. Graduate Lower Merion High School, Haverford College; law degree, U. of Pennsylvania, 1953. Lower Merion Township commissioner, 1958-64; Montgomery County commissioner, 1964-66. Appointed to Court of Common Pleas of Montgomery County, 1966; elected to ten-year term, 1967, 1977, 1987. President judge1986-. Residence: Wynnewood.
Waldron, Reverend Mother Mary Patricia. 1832-1916. Brought Sisters of Mercy to part of Merion then considered as Elm Station (today’s Narberth), 1884. With financial help from Francis A. Drexel, expanded original eight acres by purchase of the David Morgan property, 1885. Edwin Durang, architect, designed the Mater Misericordia convent buildings, school.
Warner Family. Progenitor, William (c. 1627-1706), arrived before William Penn and named his tract “Blockley” for his town in England; it extended from area of present U. of Pennsylvania, along the Schuylkill River to City Avenue, over to 52nd St. or more, and south to the Swedish settlement of Kingsessing. By 1783 it was a township with a population of 644. His son Isaac was father of second William Warner, “the Baron” (died c. 1766); one of the founders, 1722, of the “State on Schuylkill Fishing Co.”–oldest social club in Pennsylvania and noted for potent Fishhouse Punch. Baron William’s oldest son was Col. Isaac Warner of the Seventh Battalion, Philadelphia Company Militia during the American Revolution; another Isaac Warner, probably the Colonel’s son (b.1780) lived in Haverford; served in Black Hawk, Mexican and 1812 wars. Col. Isaac’s daughter, Tacy (or Lydia) married Algernon Roberts of Merion. Their son, Isaac Warner Roberts (1789-1859) had a daughter Mary who married Col. Owen Jones of Wynnewood. Isaac Warner (1823-91), another descendent of the Baron was Civil War veteran, prominent in affairs of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, Ardmore.
Warner, Fred G. 1890-1957. Architect. Designed York Lynne Manor Apartments, Merion; homes in several Lower Merion communities; John Wanamaker Store, Wynnewood (1954); First Presbyterian Church in Gladwyne (1957). Residence: Penn Valley.
Weston, Harold. 1894-1972. Artist. Born in Merion, lived in Haverford. Lobbied successfully for National Foundation for the Arts and Humanities, and help forimpoverished artists. Eleanor Roosevelt gave him credit for establishment of the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration. His work displayed in Museum of Modern Art, New York City and National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
White, Gilbert F. 1911-. Geographer. Ph.D., U. of Chicago, 1942. Administrator for American Friends Service Committee, 1942- 46. President of Haverford College, 1946-55; professor, U. of Chicago, 1956-69; U. of Colorado, 1970-78. National Academy Sciences; many United States and United Nation commissions on floods, water resources, environment; international awards. Author: Science and Future of Arid Lands (1960); The Environment as Hazard (1978); many others. Present residence: Boulder, Colorado
Wilson, Joseph M. 1838-1902. Architect for Pennsylvania Railroad’s Main Line; designed stations in Ardmore, Elm (Narberth), Wynnewood, Bryn Mawr, also ironbridges. Wilson Brothers & Co., 1856, was first to offer wide range of services.
Wilson, Woodrow. 1856-1924. 28th president of the United States, 1913-1921. Taught at Bryn Mawr College, 1885-1888. Lived first at the “In Betweenery” located between the Deanery and the Greenery and then moved into former Baptist pastor’s house on New Gulph Rd. Left Bryn Mawr College with one year of contract still to run–disliked teaching women.
Windrim, James H. 1840-1919. Architect. Won major competition to design Philadelphia Masonic Temple, 1867. Residence: Merion.
Wister, John. 1776-1862. Son of Lowry and Daniel Wister; Lowry was daughter of Owen Jones (grandson of Dr. Edward Jones & Thomas Wynne first purchasers) who inherited and purchased total of 470 acres, now Wynnewood; John Wister eventually inherited about 175 acres (“St. Mary’s”) in 1839 from uncle Owen Jones, Jr. who had no children. John’s son, Col. Louis (Lewis) Wister, had two daughters, whose estate sold land for Lower Merion High School. Other acreage went to Col. Owen Jones, another nephew of Owen J. Jr., thence to J. Aubrey Jones (died at “Wynne Wood”), and finally to collateral relatives, the Toland family.
Wister, Owen. 1860-1938. Grandson of English actress Fanny Kemble; many connections with Lower Merion. Lawyer and writer. Harvard U., 1882, Harvard Law, 1888. His successful Western stories encouraged career as novelist. Author: U.S. Grant, A Biography (1900); The Virginian (1902); Indispensable Information for Infants (1921); When West Was West (short stories) (1928); Roosevelt–The Story of a Friendship (1930). Others.
Wofford, Harris Llewellyn, Jr. 1926-. Lawyer, Washinton, D.C. assistant to Chester Bowles, 1953-54. Assistant to Father Theodore Hesburgh, Commission on Civil Rights, 1958-59. Taught at Notre Dame U.. Special Assistant to President John F. Kennedy. President of Bryn Mawr College, 1970-78.
Wohlert, Anton Emil. 1869-1941. Quaker landscape architect and nurseryman, leading popularizer of Japanese flowering trees in the United States. About 1909 the Mayor of Tokyo, following a suggestion by Mrs. William Howard Taft, gave cherry trees to Washington, D.C. Wohlert became the supplier. He first planted a double row of hybrid Yoshino cherries in Merion Meeting Burial Ground to test for hardiness. Residences: Narberth, Lower Merion.
Wollman, Harry, M.D. 1932-. Anesthesiologist. John Harvard scholar, 1950-53; Harvard U., 1954, M.D., 1958. Faculty U. of Pennsylvania, 1965-; professor anesthesia 1970-; professor pharmacology, 1971-. Member commission on anesthesia. NationalAcademy Sciences-NRC, 1970-71; chairman U. of Pennsylvania Commission onStudies Involving Man, 1972-. Associate editor reviews Anesthesiology. Others. Residence: Penn Valley.
Wolpe, Joseph, M.D. 1915- (South Africa). Psychiatrist–“Father of behavior therapy.” M.D. U. of the Witwatersrand. Captain, South African Medical Corps., 1942-46. Fellow, Stanford U. Professor U. of Va. School of Medicine, 1960-65. Professor Temple U. andEastern Pennsylvania Psychiatric Institute, 1965-1982. Distinguished Scientific Award for Applications of Psychology, American Psychological Association, 1979. Professor, Medical College of Pennsylvania, 1987-. Author: Life Without Fear: Anxiety and Its Cure; Practice of Behavior Therapy, 3rd ed. (1982); others. 200+ professional papers. Residence: Merion.
Wood, Charles Morris. 1886-1933. Inherited grandfather Wistar Morris’s mansion and property, later Friends’ Central School, Overbrook. Purchased 5.5 acres, 1919 (former Bealer Tract) at City Line and Lancaster Ave., built Green Hill Farms Hotel; managed it until his death. In 1939 property sold to Eastern Baptist Theological Seminary by Charles M. Wood’s sister, Marguerite P. Wood.
Wood, Harleston Read. 1913-. Manufacturing executive. Educated Haverford School, Princeton U. Held various positions at Alan Wood Steel Co., 1938-1954. Vice president, 1954; president, 1955-72. Various Boards. Chairman, United Fund Torch Drive in 1972. Active in Republican Party. Residence: Gladwyne
Wood, James Frederick. 1813-1883. Bishop and Archbishop (1875) of Philadelphia. Financial expert, and advocate of education. Purchased the W. F. Beekman farm in Lower Merion and adjoining properties, 1863-1870 for the 137.5-acre site of St. Charles Seminary, Overbrook. First major building designed by Sloan and Hutton, 1870s. Lived part time in old house on hill near Lancaster Pike called “the Bishop’s residence.”
Wood, Thomas Hamilton. 1923-. Biophysicist. Ph.D. U. of Chicago, 1953. Faculty, 1953-, professor physics, 1963-1988 U. of Pennsylvania Institute du Radium, Paris; NSF Senior Faculty Fellow, 1961-62. U. of Leicester, England; NIH Special Fellow, 1967-68.Visiting professor Ein Shams U. Cairo, 1980-81. Residence: Merion.
Wood, William. d. 1947. Son of John S. Wood, leather manufacturer, and Mary Amanda Wood. With brother Charles, wool importer. Built “Stonecroft” later called “Skylands” on Merion Square Rd. in Gladwyne, 1928. Sold to William Harper, 1939, then to Joseph N. Pew, Jr. Miss Ethel Pew gave it to Lutheran Church for the Deaconess House, 1953.
Woolman, Henry N. 1875-1953. Penn Charter, U. of Pennsylvania, 1896. Supplee Wills Jones Milk Co., 1919. Director exhibits, Sesqui-Centennial Commission, State of Pennsylvania, 1926. Led in organization of Horseshoe Trail Club to maintain a trail from Valley Forge to Appalachian Trail north of Hershey; trail is cut and maintained by volunteers. Residence: Ardmore.
Wright, Eliza Mary. 1873-1930. Temporary chairman Shipley School. Opened her own school for girls about 1903. Moved to Roberts Rd., Bryn Mawr. Boarders and day students; innovative curriculum, athletics, discipline, individualized pace.
Wright, Harry. 1835-1895. “Father of Baseball.” Managed teams in Cincinnati, Boston, Providence and Philadelphia. Began career as a jeweler. Near life-size figure of Wright on burial monument at West Laurel Hill Cemetery.
Yellin, Samuel. 1885-1940 (Poland). Master ironworker. Arrived America in 1906. Responsible for revival of decorative ironwork in architecture, 1920s-30s. Distinctive style created at the forge. His work featured in Washington Cathedral, Bok Tower (Fla.), Buten Museum, Valley Forge Chapel, Academy of Music, Packard Building, many local houses. Residence: Wynnewood.
Yerkes, Milton R. 1872-1964. Son of David Yerkes who came to Bryn Mawr, 1870s to farm. Progenitor, family of civil engineers and land surveyors who did most of the surveys along Main Line; began as the firm of Samuel and John Garrigues, 1874.John B .Yerkes, Sr. and Jr. still active. Company address: Bryn Mawr.
Yerkes, Titus. 18th-19th century. Married Mary Streaper between 1794-1806. Ran the former “Streaper’s Ordinary” as “Yerkes’ Inn” (today, General Wayne Inn, Merion) where the first Township election as a separate voting district was held, October, 1806.
Younger, The Reverend James Arthur. Minister of Saints Memorial Baptist Church, Bryn Mawr, originally the Second Baptist Church of Bryn Mawr. Presided over building of present church in 1928. Was first Black to serve on a local draft board, 1944.